Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I couldn't have been more pleased. Perfect, dense pound cake texture, but still with a light and not overly compact crumb. Flavorful, with the ideal level of moistness, a result of getting the best of both worlds with the butter and shortening combination. (I've experienced both pound cakes that have been too dry as well as those with far too much fat, causing them to be not moist, really, but greasy!) I used this for cupcakes and, just for fun, flavored them with pure watermelon extract, then frosted them with "Grocery Store Frosting," recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
We LOVED this pound cake!, I followed the recipe to the 't', it came out perfect, I will make it again and again, it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lady Lake, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by simplylaurie
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was a great pound cake made exactly as given. Next time, though, I would bake it for less time. I pulled it out earlier than directed, but I could've taken it out even earlier. It was enjoyed by all with sliced strawberries sprinkled with a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
this pound cake was perfect! it wasn't too dense and it wasn't too "fluffy"....it was perfect. i didn't have an lemon extract so i used almond instead. some of the top of the cake (which was actually the bottom because i used a bunt pan) browned more than I would have liked it, but I will simply adjust the temperature of the oven next time. i will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Im new to baking and this was easy and delcious!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
very good taste and texture. However i don't know what I did wrong. It burns on crust. Next time I have to adjust the temparature. It might be because of my oven. Suggest to set the time to 40 minutes for the first check
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was a wonderful pound cake. A co-worker was asking for a pound cake so I thought I'd give this one a try. I followed the recipe exact except I used a silicone bunt pan that I coated with the Wilton Cake Release I use when I bake regular cakes. I thought this was one of the most wonderful and moist pound cakes ever. I enjoyed the lemon extract and I think I'll try almond next time as almond is my favorite. I thought the batter was a bit much, but it filled the pan when baking perfectly. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trynewthings
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
this cake turned out very moist and delicious...very easy to make....onle thing i did was add a bit more vanilla......so happy i finally found the best pound cake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This one did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanette Stephens Wise
Home Town: Attalla, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
really good! instead of lemon extract I used orange zest of 1 orange and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Edwards

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 101-110 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States