Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nisha
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I used ghee for shortening. I am baking novice. Gave it only 40 mins for serving of 8. Moist, rich and ghee like. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
My first pound cake ever and it turned out great. I made strawberry shortcakes with it. I didn't have a tube pan so I greased and floured a bundt pan instead, but everything else was exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tywilliams1
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I made this for mother day it taste amazing. I didn't have any shortening so I just used extra butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Amazing recipe! I did use cake flour instead of all purpose, I also omitted the salt and used butter, and I used 2tsp of lemon extract and 1tsp of vanilla. My family could not get enough. There's so many different variations you can make with this recipe. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjayi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I have made many pound cake recipes and this is the best one. The only thing that I changed wad that Instead of affing lemon extract, I added almond extract, it was sooo gooood and moist, the only thing is that it was a little bit too sweet for me so next time I'll make it I will add half of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Great pound cake recipe. It tastes just like you imagine a pound cake should taste. I did cover with foil at 50 minutes to keep top from burning. I also used Pam baking spray instead of wax paper. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I would give this 10 stars if I could. This is the perfect pound cake recipe I've been looking for. Moist but not greasy or dense. The lemon flavor was perfect. I was hesitant to add the lemon but decided to make it exactly per the recipe. Now I'm glad I did. I have the first huge strawberries of the spring season to go with this cake and dessert tonight is going to rock husband's world. From now on this is my go to pound cake recipe. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Wow! We didn't even bother with glaze; this was so good. We did however eat it one day plain and the next with whip cream and fresh blueberries. Good both ways! In fact, this lasted exactly two days at our house! After reading oodles of reviews I made a few changes: I set out milk, butter and eggs to bring up to room temp. Mixed about 5 mins not 10. Also warning - Do not use cooking spray, use shortening and waxed paper for bottoms or it will stick badly. I don't have a tube or bundt pan so I used two loaf pans. Would love to try almond or orange extract next time in one of the pans. Lastly, the tops were very brown; I think I will cover the last 20 mins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoenix
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I added fresh lemon juice versus extract (didn't have it). The lemon taste is subtle but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was pretty good, I made a mistake and made a couple changes. My mistake was I put too much milk, I accidentally poured in 2 cups, after stirring for a few seconds, I realized my mistake and had to pour what extra milk I could. The changes were I used 1 tsp almond extract in place of the vanilla and lemon. I poured the batter into a 9x13 and put it into a cold oven. Turned on the oven to 350 and baked for an hour. Even with the error in milk, this came out pretty good, in fact, I'm glad I put in the extra milk. It gave it just the right moistness, wasn't too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States