Country Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
A good basic pot roast recipe... liked the addition of turnips. Made in crock pot, 6 hrs on low setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Meat turns out excellent! The only problem I had was the potatoes that didn't really cook well after an hour of simmering. I would recommend you add potatoes earlier OR turn heat to medium for 15-20 minutes when you add potatoes. You do not wish to boil bell peppers though as they will become way too soft, so add peppers in the last 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I must admit, I used Clarified butter rather than Crisco, but otherwise pretty much followed the recipe. It turned out very well. It was nice to find a recipe that didn't call for canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCLYNND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Absolutely perfect!! This is the pot roast that my grandmother used to make - - you cannot duplicate this in a crock pot. Well worth the 3 hours to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
very easy, tender. Used bottom round roast. Required minimum attendance so able to other things aroundn the mhouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very good!! Instead of 2 cups of water, I used 1 can of beef broth and 1/4 cup of water, which equaled 2 cups. I didn't have turnips so I subbed celery. I used red skin potatoes, halved, baby carrots and pearl onions, adding the onions along with the chopped green pepper during the last half hour. I had plenty of pot roast liquid, so I used 1/2 cup of that rather than the 1/2 cup of water when making the gravy. This pot roast was perfectly cooked, still nice and moist, after gently simmering for the full three hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was the best Pot Roast, I ever made. Of course, I added my own twist adding Sazoon, but other than that, I followed it to the T omitting the turnip. My 6, 4 and 2 year old sons ate this dish right up.....they even asked for seconds. I read some reviews where people complained that the potatoes were not tender after the hour simmer time, but my potatoes and all the other vegetables were tender and melting in my mouth after the hour. The cooking time is on point. Just follow this recipe and add a few of your own ingredients to make it your own....... BUT WONDERFUL, DELICIOUS MEAL !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was very good. I let the meat soak in a bottle of Guinness for about an hour. Then floured and browned and returned to beer bath while onions and garlic sauteed. Returned to Dutch oven with the beer. there was no need to make gravy, when finished it was nice and thick. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Yummy! I made this last night for dinner and was so pleased with how it turned out! I did make a few changes though. I added some fresh thyme at the beginning (about 1/2 tbs) and used 2 cups of beef stock instead of water. I thought it gave it a great depth of flavor. I did not use the turnips though (not a fan). This recipe was soooo tasty and well worth the EASY 3 hours it took to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
soooo goood!!! The first night it was a little bland but the leftovers were to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizanoel21
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States