Country Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very good!! Instead of 2 cups of water, I used 1 can of beef broth and 1/4 cup of water, which equaled 2 cups. I didn't have turnips so I subbed celery. I used red skin potatoes, halved, baby carrots and pearl onions, adding the onions along with the chopped green pepper during the last half hour. I had plenty of pot roast liquid, so I used 1/2 cup of that rather than the 1/2 cup of water when making the gravy. This pot roast was perfectly cooked, still nice and moist, after gently simmering for the full three hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
A good basic pot roast recipe... liked the addition of turnips. Made in crock pot, 6 hrs on low setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Yummy! I made this last night for dinner and was so pleased with how it turned out! I did make a few changes though. I added some fresh thyme at the beginning (about 1/2 tbs) and used 2 cups of beef stock instead of water. I thought it gave it a great depth of flavor. I did not use the turnips though (not a fan). This recipe was soooo tasty and well worth the EASY 3 hours it took to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Really terrific recipe will definitely make this again and again..I used shallots insted of onions and put them in whole, small red potatoes, and baby carrots. Substituted 1 cup water for beef broth.It was great thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was the best Pot Roast, I ever made. Of course, I added my own twist adding Sazoon, but other than that, I followed it to the T omitting the turnip. My 6, 4 and 2 year old sons ate this dish right up.....they even asked for seconds. I read some reviews where people complained that the potatoes were not tender after the hour simmer time, but my potatoes and all the other vegetables were tender and melting in my mouth after the hour. The cooking time is on point. Just follow this recipe and add a few of your own ingredients to make it your own....... BUT WONDERFUL, DELICIOUS MEAL !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
WONDERFUL! Made as directed except for the turnips for which I subbed a pinch of celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
very easy, tender. Used bottom round roast. Required minimum attendance so able to other things aroundn the mhouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Absolutely perfect!! This is the pot roast that my grandmother used to make - - you cannot duplicate this in a crock pot. Well worth the 3 hours to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Meat turns out excellent! The only problem I had was the potatoes that didn't really cook well after an hour of simmering. I would recommend you add potatoes earlier OR turn heat to medium for 15-20 minutes when you add potatoes. You do not wish to boil bell peppers though as they will become way too soft, so add peppers in the last 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States