Country Pineapple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Delish! Only thing I changed was to cut the sugar by 1/2 cup. My family loves this recipe. I won't be invited to Easter if I don't promise to bring this. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Excellent. Made for Dinner Club.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I also loved this recipe. The only change I made was to use french bread instead of white bread. I think it gives it more texture. About 8 cups cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanie1951

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Cut this recipe in half and added some cinnamon and nutmeg. It was a tasty dish but not quite excellent. A little dry actually. I had a similar dish for the first time at a potluck and was trying to make it myself for Christmas dinner. So perhaps it is not fair that I compare it to the one I had previously. I haven't given up though. I am going to tweek it and try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I only used 1/2 the amt. of lemon juice and I added some cut up ham. It took 3 times as long to cook as I had to use a cassarole dish to bake it in. Everyone who tasted it said they loved it. Would even be good for breakfast brunch as it resembles baked french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 143sidney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
A co-worker shared this recipe with me about 25 or so years ago. The recipe doesn't require lemon juice, and only 1 20-oz. can pineapple. I cut back on the sugar and it's been a hit every time. Friends ask me to make it for their special occasions. I can't attend a Holiday dinner with family or friends without bringing this dish. My son (the culinary student) raves about it. It's a Holiday Tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBDAN54

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
My mother saw this recipe in a magazine. I found it on your site and decided to cut it in half in case it didn't come out....hated to waste 8 eggs. It was delicious. As my family says, "It's a keeper." I'm making the full recipe for a party Friday. Thank you, Margaret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is a wonderful dish. My husband's family has been making this same recipe for decades for a holiday side dish and they call it "The Pineapple Stuff." The only difference is that they bake it in a casserole dish instead of a flat baking pan and the original family recipe calls for twice as much butter. We always get rave reviews on it when serving it to someone new. It's delicious served hot but it's also suprisingly good cold out of the frig. We have decreased the anount of butter over the years to the same amount as this recipe and it's fine...I would not cut it back much more though or you won't get the nice browning and flavor. We adjust the amount of sugar down a bit based on how naturally sweet the pineapple is, since it does vary. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Margaret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
My family enjoyed this recipe. This dish was served with ham and sweet potatoes. was more like a dessert than a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valsgal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This tasted like a mix between pineapple upside-down cake and lemon meringue pie to me. Let my bread dry out overnight and cooked it longer than directed and still seemed a bit mushy. If I tried it again, I'd cut the lemon juice in half at least, and use a couple more bread slices. Liked it chilled as a dessert better than warm as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States