Country Oatmeal Cookie in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Making these for office gifts this year and we tried it out today ... these are REALLY good right out of the oven . I made the first batch just as the recipe states . The dough was a little dry but it rolled into balled easily and but baked out fine. I cooked them 13min. They were light brown in the outside and still wet ians chewy in the middle... Perfect! Second batch I added water to moisten the dough up. No difference in the cookie quality. They do her crunchy and crisp when cooled so if you like them moister than add a second egg and don't overco them. Add a cup of coffee .... Bliss!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This recipe is amazing! I Found that the only tip I have is make sure you always have the brown sugar above the flour otherwise it doesn't pack well. I also mixed 1/2 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of Christmas M&Ms for the festive color. And instead of fabric and a rubber band i used Red or green tissue paper and red or green pipe cleaner. I think it looks cute. Then i found "gift card" holders that ended up working great for holding the recipe. It was easy to do and I made a batch at home an my fiancé went gaga for them. I made a little over a dozen as christmas gifts we'll see how they like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These turned out great! Fit perfectly in a 1 litre jar! I even baked a batch before I made the jars just in case the recipe wasn't any good. But the cookies were perfect! Not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Pretty good! I think next time I'll try to add more oats, since you can't really taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eViE nOeL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Great gifts every one loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie Lutz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HeatherWalsh
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
These cookies are delicious! I made these as wedding favors and alternated purple M&M's and choc chips. They came out beautifully and we have received so many complients on how great this cookie tastes! The amount of oatmeal is not too great, so it is more of an oatmeal/choc chip cookie rather than a traditional oatmeal. We will be making these every year as a special memory to our special day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This recipe turned out great! We had to pack it really tight and didn't include the walnuts. We used an ice cream scoop to get the ingredients all in but the did in fact fit. When we mixed up the cookies to bake them we thought they looked a bit dry so we added a heaping scoop of peanut butter. They were delicious! We will be doing these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
We add just under 1 tsp of cinnamon to give it a wonderful scent and a bit more of a holiday feel. Added a note to teachers that said, "Thanks for making me one smart cookie!" Love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
yum! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINK75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I read the reviews that said to start with the flour and so on, but even after packing and packing, I still was not able to fit 1/2 cup of the flour in my quart jar, let alone the raisins that I was going to sub for the chocolate chips. I was pretty disappointed and would have really liked to give this a higher review, but I just can't. Thank you for submitting this recipe, but I'll just continue on my quest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States