Country Morning Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I love this recipe. My whole family loved it. I made it and it is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Original recipe tastes wonderful although I agree with others there does not seem to be enough batter. I double the batter, add pecan pieces to the cinnamon sugar layer and soak the rasins in spiced rum the night before. I also add 1 tsp almond extract to the batter. Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was easy and OK, but honestly, there are other coffee cakes that I like better. I baked this in an 8" spring form pan, there didn't seem to be much batter, and as a result, the cake didn't have much height. I did have a few cherry craisins left, so I mixed them in with the raisins. If I were to make this again, I think I'd double the recipe (but probably not the sugar topping and the raisins) and cook it in a 9" spring form pan just to get more "cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made this for a brunch with my girlfriends. Everyone loved it. So did my husband and two girls. My raisins were a bit dry so I soaked them in some vanilla. For our next brunch they want me to make one with raisins and one with nuts. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I doubled this recipe and made one without raisins for my picky friends. It was just ok, nothing special and I hate to admit it, but I preferred the raisin-less one. The cake part was kind of tasteless. Others said it was good but seemed to be lacking something. ** Hey I just noticed that is said to put half the sugar mixture over the raisins then spread the remaining batter over the top. It never says that the other half of the brown sugar mixture should go on top of the second batter layer. Might have been better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was so simple yet great. I left out the raisins because I do not like them, but it was still great without them. I will use this recipe again and next time I will make 2 one with raisins and one without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was "okay". I prefer my recipe that has more sour cream and butter and is way more moist! Nevertheless, it was a treat for my husband and kids on a school morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
It was okay, not fabulous. A little dry. I probably won't bother again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I can see this cake becoming a good standby for me. As it uses ingredients I always have in. The only change I made was to use plain yoghurt instead of sour cream. It's definitely at it's best when warm. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This is an ABSOLUTE 5 out of 5 for me !!!! It was absolutely delicious. The only thing I did differently was I used an 8 inch square pan and I used walnuts and not raisins. I am going to make it again tonight. We all loved it !!! Great with a cup of tea or coffee. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States