Country House Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
Great fudge! The kids wouldn't leave it alone. I made the mistake of cooking the milk & sugar in a large pot instead of a medium one. When the fudge hardened it was too dry. I just crumbled the fudge into a glass bowl, added a little milk and heated it in the microwave until it melted. Then I repoured it into my molds and it turned out beautifully. Using quality chocolated really does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
There is something missing in the instructions...After placing chocolate chips and bars in a bowl and scooping marshmallow creme into it, it is never mentioned what to do with it! Please someone check the directions and make appropriate corrections.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
This recipe called for a lot of different chocolate that I thought sounded wonderful. I found out that it was exspensive and a little dry. The recipe left out instructions which made it a guessing game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This is the best fudge recipe I've ever used. It was very smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
So rich and chocolately. My son is a fudge gourmet and he gives this 10 stars! I'm planning a batch for Valentines sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
I've made this recipe several times now, and everyone who has gotten some of the fudge rave about it and ask for the recipe! It's so easy to make and always comes out great. It's a good thing that it makes as much as it does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
For all those who think part of the recipe is missing, its not. You add the milk and sugar mixture to the chocolate in the bowl and beat it. Its just like every other fudge recipe. I like the different types of chocolate in this recipe. Be sure to use the highest quality chocolate you can afford.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta Leydsman Fecke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
my husband made a lot of fudge over the last 20 years. Three years ago, he found this one, and it is the only one we make now. Amazing rich, chocolately taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Beckham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This is the best and easiest chocolate fudge recipe I have ever made. Everyone loves it and it doesn't last long. The only change I made was I poured it in one 9x13 pan instead of two because I found it hard to separate and spread smoothly between two pans but it still tastes great. Will definitely keep this recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This was my first time ever making fudge and despite my misgivings, it turned out quite well and was rather easy to make. The butter/milk mixture started to get gloopy and separate so I thought that the fudge would be grainy, but it set up very well and was smooth. Like another reviewer, I used only 1 pan instead of two, but it still makes a lot of fudge if you cut the squares small enough. My only complaint is that it is very, very sweet. I think that next time, I will combine unsweetened and semi-sweet chocolate instead of semi-sweet and German sweet bars. My friends really liked it, but it was too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States