Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving brunch. It was very simple and delicious. I scaled it to 12 servings and used a little more croutons that called for because I used chorizo sausage instead of ham. Chorizo is very greasy! I also made my own croutons from fresh mini loaves (white & wheat). Everyone loved the casserole, even the kids! I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Made this for a family get-together. Left out the mustard powder but added Garlic Powder, Dried Minced Onion, and Red Pepper Flakes (a dash or two each). Made a double batch and there wasn't any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLCKANGL00

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Very YUMMY! My fiance and I have made it 3 times already since discovering it! I've even tried baking it immediately after preparing it, as opposed to letting it sit for a while, and it turned out just as good. I've also used ripped up hamburger bun pieces instead of croutons and that worked fine too. I now cut down on the amount of butter as previous reviewers suggested and the casserole is much less greasy. Oh yes, I also use 5 eggs and a tad more milk to fill the pan a bit more, but the casserole fluffs up a bit while baking. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annareisel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
I made this Christmas morning. Did not have croutons so I put some bread in the oven and toasted it and then cubed it and used that. Delicious! This recipe is definitely a keeper, and one that I'll use again and again. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
I have tried a dozen breakfast casseroles in the last month and this is just the one I was looking for. Taste Great! Simple! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was excellent, wonderful flavor. I cooked it in a loaf pan and had no trouble with too dry. The boyfriend actually commented on how tasty it was, and he's not into eggs! I made it as stated, except had no croutons so I just cut up a piece of toast. Nommy! UPDATE: This time I am trying to clean out the fridge, so I added some cottage cheese, half a green pepper, a chopped roma tomato, a little spinach and some basil. Used toast again and had white cheddar on hand. Popped it in the fridge about 4 pm and threw it in the oven at 6:45. Took about an hour to cook with all the extra stuff-and I had to dump out a LOT of extra grease-but turned out great! Much richer with the cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Great recipe! I tinkered with it ever so slightly, as other reviewers suggested...5 eggs instead of 4, less butter and ham, more croutons...and knowing me, probably more cheese! The resulting casserole was very yummy! I used seasoned croutons and mild cheddar cheese, but it might be interesting to use different flavors to mix it up a bit. I think I might even try bacon next time instead of ham! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBRANN25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Holland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I really liked this...but the kids did not. I used buttermilk and bacon. I was hoping they would like it, it was so easy and filling. Oh well, back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made this casserole for Christmas morning. It was fantastic. I had eight people here and they all loved it. I made a separate small casserole with egg beaters and less ham for my father-in-law who has to watch his cholesterol and salt intake. I followed the advice of the first reviewer and added more egg. I also used the butter Pam instead. It was perfect. I am going to continue to make this for a quick morning breakfast as it was also great reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
YUM!!!!! This is a great and easy recipe to make for breakfast! I did add 6 eggs insted of 4 and used 1 cup of milk instead of 3/4 to avoid any "burning" of the croutons. I have made this three times now and each time I try something new..I'll add green and red bell peppers and onions and the next I added fresh sliced mushrooms. Very Tasty! In fact, I plan to double the recipe and make for the upcoming Easter holiday. Thank you Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States