Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I really liked this...but the kids did not. I used buttermilk and bacon. I was hoping they would like it, it was so easy and filling. Oh well, back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Made this for a family get-together. Left out the mustard powder but added Garlic Powder, Dried Minced Onion, and Red Pepper Flakes (a dash or two each). Made a double batch and there wasn't any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLCKANGL00

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Great recipe! I tinkered with it ever so slightly, as other reviewers suggested...5 eggs instead of 4, less butter and ham, more croutons...and knowing me, probably more cheese! The resulting casserole was very yummy! I used seasoned croutons and mild cheddar cheese, but it might be interesting to use different flavors to mix it up a bit. I think I might even try bacon next time instead of ham! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBRANN25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Holland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was excellent, wonderful flavor. I cooked it in a loaf pan and had no trouble with too dry. The boyfriend actually commented on how tasty it was, and he's not into eggs! I made it as stated, except had no croutons so I just cut up a piece of toast. Nommy! UPDATE: This time I am trying to clean out the fridge, so I added some cottage cheese, half a green pepper, a chopped roma tomato, a little spinach and some basil. Used toast again and had white cheddar on hand. Popped it in the fridge about 4 pm and threw it in the oven at 6:45. Took about an hour to cook with all the extra stuff-and I had to dump out a LOT of extra grease-but turned out great! Much richer with the cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made this casserole for Christmas morning. It was fantastic. I had eight people here and they all loved it. I made a separate small casserole with egg beaters and less ham for my father-in-law who has to watch his cholesterol and salt intake. I followed the advice of the first reviewer and added more egg. I also used the butter Pam instead. It was perfect. I am going to continue to make this for a quick morning breakfast as it was also great reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I give it four stars because it is easy, low calorie (especially as far as traditional breakfast foods/casseroles go), and can be made ahead of time. As a result of those factors, I make it all the time. As far as taste goes, I've had better, but it's worth it to me to cut the calories and cook with ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I was too tired to prepare it the night before but I don't think that mattered. Wegmans only had maple-cured ham that day and that sweetness did not work with the savory, i.e., use plain ham only. Overall, my guests liked it, but it was really nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMM104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I served this Christmas morning and it got rave reviews; just about everyone had seconds. I followed the suggestions and reduced the butter to two to three tablespoons, increased the croutons (essentially having one layer of croutons at the bottom of the dish) and cheese by 20%. Additionally, I sprayed the casserole dish with a cooking spray which kept it from sticking too badly. I doubled the recipe (8 eggs) and found that an 8x12 pan worked fairly well; a little smaller would also be fine but would probably take longer to bake. The next time I'll probably add some diced red or green peppers for color, and perhaps some chopped scallions. I'm very salt sensitive and found the recipe a bit salty given the amount of ham, cheese and croutons, but it was not excessively so. If you really dislike salty foods, I suggest using low sodium cheese and/or making your own croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Was really good but needed to cook a little more than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Really great recipe! Used Morningstar sausage patties instead of ham for a veggie option, and it was dee-lish! Super easy recipe, and perfect for popping in the oven on Christmas morning like we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIETOGO
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States