Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This turned out GREAT! As most of us do - I try to cut back here and there. Where it called for butter I used "I cant believe its not butter" and I made my own croutons (baked). I heard its healthier to do so (store bought ones are fried. I used low fat cheese & milk! YOU WOULD NEVER KNOW! Great recipe..... Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Wow! My whole family loved this and ate every last crumb! I made a vegetarian version with a sausage substitute, and it turned out great. I could see this becoming a family favorite right away. I did increase the croutons so they pretty much covered the bottom of the pan, but I left the other measurements as in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Made this for a house-ful of people and everyone loved it. Only change I made was to use day old french bread cut into chunks instead of the croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Anne Tumlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was very easy to prepare and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I love a recipe that is a base for making it your own. Instead of croûtons, I toasted some bread like others suggested. Also, I played with sweet and spicy tastes by adding one piece of french toast (cubed) to the based and topping the egg mix with chopped jalapeños. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breeannestop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I really liked this...but the kids did not. I used buttermilk and bacon. I was hoping they would like it, it was so easy and filling. Oh well, back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Made this for a family get-together. Left out the mustard powder but added Garlic Powder, Dried Minced Onion, and Red Pepper Flakes (a dash or two each). Made a double batch and there wasn't any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLCKANGL00

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Great recipe! I tinkered with it ever so slightly, as other reviewers suggested...5 eggs instead of 4, less butter and ham, more croutons...and knowing me, probably more cheese! The resulting casserole was very yummy! I used seasoned croutons and mild cheddar cheese, but it might be interesting to use different flavors to mix it up a bit. I think I might even try bacon next time instead of ham! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBRANN25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Holland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was excellent, wonderful flavor. I cooked it in a loaf pan and had no trouble with too dry. The boyfriend actually commented on how tasty it was, and he's not into eggs! I made it as stated, except had no croutons so I just cut up a piece of toast. Nommy! UPDATE: This time I am trying to clean out the fridge, so I added some cottage cheese, half a green pepper, a chopped roma tomato, a little spinach and some basil. Used toast again and had white cheddar on hand. Popped it in the fridge about 4 pm and threw it in the oven at 6:45. Took about an hour to cook with all the extra stuff-and I had to dump out a LOT of extra grease-but turned out great! Much richer with the cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made this casserole for Christmas morning. It was fantastic. I had eight people here and they all loved it. I made a separate small casserole with egg beaters and less ham for my father-in-law who has to watch his cholesterol and salt intake. I followed the advice of the first reviewer and added more egg. I also used the butter Pam instead. It was perfect. I am going to continue to make this for a quick morning breakfast as it was also great reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States