Country Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made this recipe for Christmas dinner and it was definitely a hit with everyone. My only variation was using 1/4 cup of liquid from the turkey instead of chicken broth. I used an electric skillet because I doubled the recipe. I've will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I am a vegetarian, so I omitted the bacon and used vegetable broth. They were EXCELLENT and I got many compliments on them from my family (who would give me their honest opinion)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
We love these! My 5yo eats them like candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Delicious green beans! I sauteed the onion and garlic in some of the bacon grease, then added the other ingredients to the skillet, only dirtying one pan. I only used about 1 TBSP butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
We did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
The first time I made these I knew the recipe was a keeper; my husband raved about them and has asked for them every week. I've made them a few times now and not deviated from the recipe as it is written. Why mess with perfection?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Great recipe. I think next time I try it I'll half the butter as they turned out a little greasier than I prefer, but that's just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Jobe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Amazing!! Made this for Easter dinner. Tired of the bland, steamed version and my husband isn't crazy about the Campbell's Green Bean casserole. My timing was off so my beans were a little more overlooked than we like but the flavor was spot on! Not sure I'll make green beans any other way. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I used all the same ingredients but changed up the cooking method. After steaming the green beans I rinsed them in cold water to cool and then drained. While I was doing that, I sautéed the onions in the butter and the seasonings then added the chicken broth. Once combined, I added the green beans and heated through. Before serving, I topped with the crumbled up pre-cooked bacon so it would still be crispy. I also had some grated Parmesan cheese on the table which some chose to use. We loved this recipe and a great winter comfort food. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States