Country Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
We love these! My 5yo eats them like candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Delicious green beans! I sauteed the onion and garlic in some of the bacon grease, then added the other ingredients to the skillet, only dirtying one pan. I only used about 1 TBSP butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Thought that we would really like this, but we did not. Ended up throwing most of it away. Sorry. Hate to give bad reviews, but this was not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
The first time I made these I knew the recipe was a keeper; my husband raved about them and has asked for them every week. I've made them a few times now and not deviated from the recipe as it is written. Why mess with perfection?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Great recipe. I think next time I try it I'll half the butter as they turned out a little greasier than I prefer, but that's just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Jobe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Amazing!! Made this for Easter dinner. Tired of the bland, steamed version and my husband isn't crazy about the Campbell's Green Bean casserole. My timing was off so my beans were a little more overlooked than we like but the flavor was spot on! Not sure I'll make green beans any other way. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I used all the same ingredients but changed up the cooking method. After steaming the green beans I rinsed them in cold water to cool and then drained. While I was doing that, I sautéed the onions in the butter and the seasonings then added the chicken broth. Once combined, I added the green beans and heated through. Before serving, I topped with the crumbled up pre-cooked bacon so it would still be crispy. I also had some grated Parmesan cheese on the table which some chose to use. We loved this recipe and a great winter comfort food. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Very good, everyone liked them, including my picky son. I think I might try a little Parmesan cheese on top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These were fantastic -- AND so easy! We sauteed the onions in the bacon grease, tossed in the beans and garlic and sauteed fr just a bit before adding the broth to simmer. Didn't add the salt and used just a pat of butter. Really good, simple, but kinda fancy too. Served with prime rib and baked potato w/cheddar bisquits for friends' Christmas gathering. Very nice combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States