Country Fried Steaks with Sweet Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Amazing and very easy to make. I substituted half of the milk with cream. And, I coated with the flour mixture, then dredged in beaten egg, and coated with the flour mixture again before frying. I will absolutely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is a great recipe. I use 1-2 onions and put a beef bouillon cube in the gravy. Instead of simmering on top of the stove, put meat and gravy in a covered pan in the oven for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. If I don't have beef stock on hand, use a packet of Au Jus Mix. Keep the flour/spices in a ziplock bag it's handy. I did use cayenne pepper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
The steaks had no flavor, the gravy was good but I had to add some extra spices to it. Just kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
The CFS could use a little more spice but other than that great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
If I could give it more than 5 stars I would. This dish actually makes your belly happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is a good recipe. I made a few changes to it but not much. First of all, I adjusted the recipe for 6 serving and used 6 top blade steaks (that I pounded out). Then I seasoned the meat on both sides with a little garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne and salt before dredging in the flour mixture. I didn't have sweet onions, so I used 3 large yellow onions instead. Because I adjusted the servings I reserved a 1/2 cup of flour mixture instead of 1/3 cup. Followed the recipe as stated from the flouring to the return of the steaks to the gravy. Because the meat was almost done, I only simmered in the gravy for about 20 minutes. The gravy was a little bland so I added a few extra shakes of salt to it. Turned out great! I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
The gravy was tasty but I don't understand why we browned and fried the steaks in the first place if we are going to submerge them in the gravy later. The coating came off the steaks when it was simmering in the gravy... I think it would be better if the steaks were fried and cooked separately from the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I would have liked the steaks a little more tender, but otherwise this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This recipie tasted more like a mixture of salsbury steak and stroganoff. Won't be using again for country fried steak. Great taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States