Country Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I had two black angus round steaks that were very tasty and tender. I tried to use the grill but it was too windy to lit it. I looked up this recipe and just cut it down a little and it was very good. I didn't do it, but a touch of cayenne would probably be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is VERY good!! Easy to make, tender, crispy, and just the perfect seasoning!Better than restaurant country fried steak! EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Seasoning tasted good, but for the most part, these didn't turn out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My cube steaks were 'pre seasoned' when purchased, which I think is why they seemed salty. Followed the recipe exact and made a nice crunch on the outside and were very tender. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I loved this recipe! Always had a hard time getting my cube steak crispy but this made it come out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I'd never attempted to make country fried steak before so this was my first one. I've also never used saltines as a breading so I was very curious to try. It was sooo good! My husband and stepson loved it too. I didn't change anything about the recipe and I really think this was the best cfs I've ever had! Thank you for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camspencer113

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I made this for my family last night and we all loved it, we recently moved to Hawaii and restaurants don't serve country fried steak, I've been missing it. This was wonderful and easy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsawyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This recipe is easy to make, but breading did not stick well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was very, very good. Go light on the salt until you taste it. The only change I made was to use deer steaks pounded out thin. It was so tender and so good with milk gravy and garlic mashed potatoes. I'm sure the whole family will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alcar95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Of all the country fried steak recipes I've ever made, this is by far the best one, but I'm not impressed enough to make it again (my hubs agrees). For all the spice called for, I found my steaks to be terribly bland. And, as with most recipes that call for a crushed cracker coating, I found it nearly impossible for any of it to adhere to my meat. I think more of the cracker bits ended up in my skillet than on the cube steaks themselves.... I have one more comment to add. Two tablespoons of oil is not nearly enough to saute with, let alone fry with. I had to add WAY more oil than called for to brown only two steaks. Of course, the suggested heat setting didn't help either (I fried my steaks on medium heat because they were burning on the suggested medium-high temperature). Served with mom's country gravy (Nancy Smith), corn, mashed potatoes and biscuits, this was a filling but disappointingly mediocre meal. Thanks anyways, Laura. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States