Country Fried Steak and Milk Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Easy to prepare and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This recipe is really good. The only thing that I do differently when I make a milk or cream gravy is that I always add an 8 ounce package of "room temperature" cream cheese. I learned this from an Amish family near the Susquehanna River in Pennsylvania. The cream cheese is mild flavored enough, yet rich enough, to add an additional creaminess to the gravy while also adding a mild "bite" to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Strawberry, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Looks like a good recipe for me to try, but I will have to cut way back on the pepper. Pepper is not my favorite spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillyG2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I haven't made this recipe, but I've made similar. Also, add onion powder and a boullion cube or 2 while it is cooking. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Richmond, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
this is the way I have been making chicken fried steak forever. one hint is to tenderize the steaks a little with a mallet before coating them. not a lot but it really makes them so tender you can cut them with a fork. a real Texas staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Great recipe! For those of us that like a little more substantial coating, I dip the meat in plain bread crumbs instead of the second dip in flour, but it works well as written. You can't have this without the gravy...yum! The mistakes most people make when making gravy is not cooking it long enough, not stirring it enough, and hesitating to add more liquid (milk, broth, whatever) if it appears to be to thick. Remember, it will continue to thicken after being removed from heat, especially milk gravy thickened with flour. This meal with mashed potatoes is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I made this as written except I used butter instead of lard because I didn't have it on hand. the meat was really tasty but when it came to the gravy,,,,it was pretty bland and I had to continue adding salt to it. I will make again but do something different with the gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef4six

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I love cooking, but have never been able to make a really good gravy..... that is until now. This recipe is fantastic, and the only change I would suggest, is to double the gravy ingredient's. Everything else is spot on perfect. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by mamamcgonigle
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Followed recipe exactly. Turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamcgonigle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I make this all the time, Awesome!!! I too double the gravy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States