Country Fried Steak and Milk Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I used frozen hamburger patties that I really don't enjoy as burgers. I did flatten them out a bit and then I followed the recipe as written. I enjoyed the peppery gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I made this tonight for dinner but I used a round steak and tenderized it. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I make this sometimes using pork sirloin and it's incredible but either beef or pork I use about a 6 oz cut of meat which I pound and tenderize, this makes for a big satisfying steak. Instead of plain lard I use bacon fat, always have always will. You can season the meat and dredge with whatever you like in the way of spices. I keep mine fairly simple. Salt, lots of black pepper a bit of garlic powder, onion powder and fresh thyme leaves to taste added to the gravy. Like another reviewer stated, I triple the amount of gravy because we have mashed potatoes and biscuits with ours and we like a lot of gravy. Before adding the flour to the fat in the pan I add some minced fresh onion and saute for a minute or so. Some people complained that it was not health food. It's not supposed to be, it's supposed to good down home comforting country cooking which it is. I don't make this weekly but we have it several times during the year and company and family love it. It's ok to treat yourself to an indulgence once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is exactly the way my mom and grandma made this I was taught by them and in turn taught my daughters and granddaughters. Love this dish but don't make it very often due to the calorie and fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Pojar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I grew up on fried cube steaks and gravy and have tried often to recreate but the flavor just hasn't been what I recalled. Not anymore! Don't know if it was the lard, high temp,or egg wash - all new to me - but this sure satisfied my longing! Almost as good as what I always get at our favorite restaurant in Springfield, MO. Hubby thought the pepper was a bit over the top so I'll cut that back a bit next time but that's the only change I'll make. Thanks for a very satisfying recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
My mother taught me this recipe 45 yrs ago. One of my sons' faves growing up. They all had me teach their wives how to make it. Sometimes we ask the butcher to tenderize round steak & cut into smaller pieces for mini steaks. Still scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
You need a little more grease and cook at 375,so it doesn't soak up grease while cooking. I use flour-eggs-cracker or bread crumbs then let rest. Also I get my Meat counter guy to tenderize a few round steaks ,if they're working in back they useally won't charge extra. You get lots more meat at a great price.I eat alot so I triple the suff for the gravy and may add onions,mushrooms , ect,ect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I didn't try this recipe; I got a stomach ache just watching the video. I much prefer my oven-baked chicken fried steak which has less than a quarter of the calories, fat, cholesterol of this recipe. I serve it with cheese grits & the meal is awesome! Excuse me, I have to go to the kitchen & whip up a yummy batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ncgeezer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This recipe did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States