Country Fried Steak and Milk Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Soooo GOOD! And easy! I used oil instead of lard only because I didn't have any lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hairbrush

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
oh-wow-yumm.. The only thing hubby said was "I'm a little bummed you didnt make me 2 of them." I said,but I did give you the biggest piece,maybe next time. I dredged twice,s&p,paparika,and fried in olive oil. Used the gravy out of the jar.Thats a keeper,and now I dont have to wait to get it at the restaraunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Great recipe. Easy and yummy. The best part was this was the first time I ever made gavey successfully! Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melarizona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
If you are looking for a recipe that reminds you of years past, this is the recipe for you...comfort food at its best! My husband swears he hates cube steak, but he ate all of his and I didn't tell him it was cubed steak lol. SCORE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Boles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I like this one. But it was missing something and I still can't put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This was a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllrecipesElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Nine times out of ten simple is better. This isn't unnecessarily complicated like so many other recipes and it tastes every bit as good. I don't understand the people who are saying the gravy is difficult and takes a long time. I didn't think it was any different than any other gravy, it was done in five minutes. I did fry it in olive oil and butter because I don't like lard. Tips for keeping the batter on: Let the meat sit until it's not very cold. Let it sit for a few minutes after the first time in the flour. Let it sit for a few more minutes while your oil heats. The MOST important factors are: 1. Your oil needs to be HOT, really, really hot. 2. Leave it be. Set the meat in the oil, set a timer, and don't bother it. If you're picking it up over and over, the batter will fall off. Very good, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is my first review here and I had to say Thank You ! My husband loved this dish and I enjoyed trying my hand at homemade gravy. I had some frying flour that I used for the dredging and actually had lard on hand that I had never worked with before but it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I used frozen hamburger patties that I really don't enjoy as burgers. I did flatten them out a bit and then I followed the recipe as written. I enjoyed the peppery gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States