Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
The original recipe was quite bland for my taste so, on the second batch, I added approx. 1/2 tsp of salt, garlic powder, onion powder and black pepper to the batter. I shallow fried and flipped halfway through cooking. We dipped in ketchup, and everyone in the family gobbled it up! The next day, we made it again with both squash and potatoes. With the minor adjustments to the seasoning, this is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I used yellow squash for this recipe and it was so easy and delicious. Minor recommendations: Instead of using an egg and milk just use the egg. Also, eliminate the spices in the recipe and just use Italian bread crumbs. In summary, slice the squash, dip in egg, shake in Italian bread crumbs and fry...UM..UM...GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
You have got to try this recipe!Oh my gosh!!! This is delicious! I can not stop eating the green tomatoes I fried up using this dredge. The squash was ok, it would have been better, a LOT better had I cut them thin instead of thick. The fried green tomatoes were out of this world. I did change the recipe up a bit by using (I am a season person, the more, the better!)salt, pepper, garlic powder, parsley, and season all in both the egg wash and the flour/corn meal mixture. I put it in a zip lock bag which makes the clean up easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
When I made this recipe, I used yellow squash instead and i was a big hit. My boyfriend's mother was so impressed that she upgraded her fried squash recipe to include eggs, milk, and flour. It makes the squash crunchy outside and soft inside. My mom, roommate, dad, little brother, everyone I know loves this recipe. We've even made it with green tomatoes and zucchini. Being from the south, we love things fried, and this recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very good! I used yellow crookneck squash and it turned out wonderful. Make sure you salt the hot squash to taste after you remove them from the pan and drain them on paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Great recipe for frying up all those summer squash! My children, who hate veggies, ate this willingly! I decreased the milk to 1/4 cup and added some Frank's Red Hot Sauce to the egg/milk mixture for a little kick! I have also made a batch using half a packet of Ranch mix in the flour for a little extra zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
I had never fried squash before, and this turned out great. I used fresh yellow squash out of my dad's garden...Hubby loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Ohhh so good! I have tried to fry squash before, but it never turned out right. I found this recipe and fell in love! Very yummy. I did dip them into Italian stye breadcrumbs and flour instead of the cornmeal and they turned out perfect. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Love it! Just finished eating our first batch...so simple, so good. Our seasonings: 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp black peppper. We mixed this in with the flour, then dumped in a paper bag. Shook the squash slices in this 1st, then dipped in egg/milk mixture, then dredged lightly in cornmeal. Fried in 1/2" oil as directed. Super crispy and the squash was melt-in-your-mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
The perfect recipe for fried squash. I had to "sample" these as I was cooking each batch b/c they smelled and looked so good. I also added Season-all and garlic salt to the flour mix. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States