Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
The original recipe was quite bland for my taste so, on the second batch, I added approx. 1/2 tsp of salt, garlic powder, onion powder and black pepper to the batter. I shallow fried and flipped halfway through cooking. We dipped in ketchup, and everyone in the family gobbled it up! The next day, we made it again with both squash and potatoes. With the minor adjustments to the seasoning, this is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I thought this was ok. My husband liked it pretty well though. I've never had fried squash, so maybe I just didn't like it because it was a different taste/texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
When I made this recipe, I used yellow squash instead and i was a big hit. My boyfriend's mother was so impressed that she upgraded her fried squash recipe to include eggs, milk, and flour. It makes the squash crunchy outside and soft inside. My mom, roommate, dad, little brother, everyone I know loves this recipe. We've even made it with green tomatoes and zucchini. Being from the south, we love things fried, and this recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! My husband is one of those "it can't be as good as my mother's" critics. This was the first time I'd ever even tried to fry squash! I used the regular yellow squash - no peeling or seeding, and between him and our 3 year old, I don't know who ate more! It was easy and just perfect! Thanks for sharing this! It is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELR2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I just used good ol'yellow squash. I liked the recipe and definitely will keep it to use for zucchini, squash and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Great recipe for frying up all those summer squash! My children, who hate veggies, ate this willingly! I decreased the milk to 1/4 cup and added some Frank's Red Hot Sauce to the egg/milk mixture for a little kick! I have also made a batch using half a packet of Ranch mix in the flour for a little extra zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I have to agree with the reviewer who said, "This is by far the best way to cook and eat squash." This squash was a hit at work. So, I made it to go with our dinner lastnight too and even my children who aren't squash fans absolutely loved it! The only thing different that I did was that I added some pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This is bland; but I'm glad I tried it. I did end up dipping the fried squash in soy sauce just for flavor (I didn't know whatelse I can dip it in)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crowley, Texas, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I loved this recipe and this was my first time even trying squash. I left out the corn meal and added a little bit of dill weed, and then I dip the breaded sticks in ranch dressing after frying them (I fry them in a deep fat fryer on the lowest temp for 3 mins), and they're awesome! I just started making them yesterday and I'm already on my 3rd batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States