Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Despite my failed attempts to make this healthier, it turned out really good! I originally tried to bake it but that didn't work at all (after 20 minutes the bottoms were still not getting crispy/golden), so I ended up frying them anyway, and they still turned out great! I did follow a couple of reviewers' suggestions. I cut the milk in half, added hot sauce to the egg mixture (which didn't even add a hint of spiciness so I won't bother next time), and added extra salt/garlic powder/onion powder. We had to still add some more salt after frying but they were REALLY GOOD. I'm not usually a huge veggie person but I think I liked these better than fries! Might try them with bread crumbs next time and try baking them that way, but these are definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Excellent basic recipe. If you like things highly seasoned, triple each spice (at least). I also add a couple of dashes of hot sauce to the egg/milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Oh yum! This was great! I had an extra large yellow squash to use up and wasnt for sure what I wanted to make with it. I started reading that they could be fried up like fried green tomatoes and decided to use this recipe. My hubby gobbled them all up! He loved them so much! I did only add 1/4 cup cornmeal since Im not much of a cornmeal person, and then just added 1/4 cup more flour. It was plenty of cornmeal in my opinion. I could taste the cornmeal perfectly fine on the finished product. I may even reduce it slightly more next time. I will for sure be making this again when we have an abundance of squash. It would be great with all different varieties. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I thought this recipe was delicious! I think that next time I make it, I will try dipping the squash in buttermilk, instead of milk and egg. I think it will make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was great! The batter is tasty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
OMG...this is absolutley delicious!!!! The only regret I had was that I only had one large squash because we would have eaten more! It also works great with zucchini. I didn't use the egg or the cornmeal. I just soaked the sliced squash in a bowl of milk and then dipped the slices in flour seasoned with seasoning salt and a little black pepper. I will be making this for many years to come. Also makes a fabulous appetizer for almost any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This recipe was great! It was so easy to make. I just added a little salt right when I took the squash out of the pan for a bit of extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
These are goooooooooooooood. I have also made them gluten free by subbing in a blend of brown rice flour, potato starch, and arrowroot starch for the wheat flour...can't even tell a difference. I just use garlic powder and then extra salt. Threw in some onion powder also. SO GOOD! Not healthy, but who cares??!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
My aunt used to make this for me all the time when I'd go visit her every summer. I have no idea what her recipe is other than her using squash straight from her garden, but this definitely hits the spot for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccergirl37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States