Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Oh yum! This was great! I had an extra large yellow squash to use up and wasnt for sure what I wanted to make with it. I started reading that they could be fried up like fried green tomatoes and decided to use this recipe. My hubby gobbled them all up! He loved them so much! I did only add 1/4 cup cornmeal since Im not much of a cornmeal person, and then just added 1/4 cup more flour. It was plenty of cornmeal in my opinion. I could taste the cornmeal perfectly fine on the finished product. I may even reduce it slightly more next time. I will for sure be making this again when we have an abundance of squash. It would be great with all different varieties. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I thought this recipe was delicious! I think that next time I make it, I will try dipping the squash in buttermilk, instead of milk and egg. I think it will make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was great! The batter is tasty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
OMG...this is absolutley delicious!!!! The only regret I had was that I only had one large squash because we would have eaten more! It also works great with zucchini. I didn't use the egg or the cornmeal. I just soaked the sliced squash in a bowl of milk and then dipped the slices in flour seasoned with seasoning salt and a little black pepper. I will be making this for many years to come. Also makes a fabulous appetizer for almost any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This recipe was great! It was so easy to make. I just added a little salt right when I took the squash out of the pan for a bit of extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
These are goooooooooooooood. I have also made them gluten free by subbing in a blend of brown rice flour, potato starch, and arrowroot starch for the wheat flour...can't even tell a difference. I just use garlic powder and then extra salt. Threw in some onion powder also. SO GOOD! Not healthy, but who cares??!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
My aunt used to make this for me all the time when I'd go visit her every summer. I have no idea what her recipe is other than her using squash straight from her garden, but this definitely hits the spot for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccergirl37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I added a lot more seasoning to my batch, including Italian seasoning. Also on the last batch, as an idea from my husband, I sprinkled shredded cheese on top just before removing them from the pan. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Just a great, light, coating for any veggie and I will try it on fish and shrimp. This one is a real keeper! Two minutes to put together; I used yellow squash and it was just GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
My husband and kids liked this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmelmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States