Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was really good. It did need to be double dipped, but I have a trick for that. I doubled the flour mixture, and I add 1/3 of it into the egg mixture. Less messy and the same effect as double dipping. Also, I add alot more seasoning, but everybody knows that you season to your own tastes. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyowen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
The first apple pie I've ever made, but truly the most delicious pie I've ever tasted. It was a smash amongst everyone who tried it. The only change I made was to add vanilla extract to the sugar sauce, and to toss cinnamon and nutmeg with the apple slices before putting them in the pie pan. Absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAGNYDAGNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was excellent! It's a great basic breading that can be customized based on your personal tastes. I used zucchini because that's what I had but it would be great on any kind of squash or for fried green tomatoes. I reduced the milk and added seasoned salt instead of the other spices. If you like a thick crust, definitely double dip - egg, then dry mixture, then egg, then dry mixture again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I found this recipe quite good the way it was but maybe my pinches are a little more than just a pinch on the spices:). I found the idea of putting the dry ingredients in a baggy very useful and it avoided a lot of mess handling the ingredients by a dipping method using either your hands or a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very good! I used yellow crookneck squash and it turned out wonderful. Make sure you salt the hot squash to taste after you remove them from the pan and drain them on paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was a great squash recipe- the best fried squash that I've ever made! I used seasoned salt instead of the seasoning in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Made the recipe as listed except I used green squash that was not peeled or seaded, and i added a pinch of italian seasoning. It was great! My wife kept talking about how amazing it was, and I couldn't stop munching on it while the next batch was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kunming, Yunnan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I used yellow squash and zucchini for this recipe and we loved it! I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGoolsby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This really does need to be double dipped. After frying one and tasting I added a lot more garlic salt and a bit of Blackening Seasoning, was much better. I did cut thin slices. These are good also dipped in Ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
After reading reviews, I cut the milk and the cornmeal in half. Added a little onion powder and used yellow squash. I did use 2 coats of egg wash and batter. Very yummy! Served with ranch dip, but I was pleased to discover that the dip wasn't necessary. Tip: the thinner the slices, the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States