Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Just a great, light, coating for any veggie and I will try it on fish and shrimp. This one is a real keeper! Two minutes to put together; I used yellow squash and it was just GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
My husband and kids liked this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmelmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Not the best I've had, next time I'll try buttermilk instead of regular milk and, since the cornmeal kinda turned me off, I'll just use seasoned flour for dredging. That's how I make fried okra and it's the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is the best recipe for fried squash ever! The garlic salt really sets it apart from other fried squash recipes. This will be a staple in our home! Thank you Maryanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
My family likes things crispy, so I cooked this a little while longer and really coated them. My family also requested I cut different sized pieces, so I did. The recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayla_newbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Excellent! For my first time cooking squash, that is. I spent the first 36 years of my life not eating squash, and finally my husband talked me into trying it. I love it! And this recipe was perfect. I'll use it every time I fry squash. Oh, one thing though. It needed more salt. Sprinkle a little kosher salt on each one after they come out of the grease. Kosher salt makes them PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is the way my grandmother in TN made it too! I hate going to restaurants that just use plain flour batter ... it's just not right, LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpsrabbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Love it! Just finished eating our first batch...so simple, so good. Our seasonings: 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp black peppper. We mixed this in with the flour, then dumped in a paper bag. Shook the squash slices in this 1st, then dipped in egg/milk mixture, then dredged lightly in cornmeal. Fried in 1/2" oil as directed. Super crispy and the squash was melt-in-your-mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I used yellow summer squash (crookneck squash my mom used to call them) My husband said this was just like his grandma used to make. He was eating it before it even cooled and it's a good thing I made extra since he was devouring it so quickly. I did salt it lightly as it came out of the hot oil. Thanks, I'll make this again it was so much better than cooking the frozen pre-breaded ones from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Ohhh so good! I have tried to fry squash before, but it never turned out right. I found this recipe and fell in love! Very yummy. I did dip them into Italian stye breadcrumbs and flour instead of the cornmeal and they turned out perfect. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States