Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is a good base recipe, but it definitely needs more seasoning. After cooking the first batch I jazzed up the dredge by adding garlic powder, onion powder, paprika,and cayanne pepper. I also double dipped my squash for a thicker batter/crust. With these adjustments this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is pretty good, I'm from the deep south, down on the coast, and we do ours: Dip in Milk and Egg mixture then in Flour, Salt, Pepper mixture: FRY, then Sprinkle with Sugar, it is wonderful, my children, my husband, nor myself like squash, but we love it made like this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made this last night and absolutely loved it! I used both squash and zuccini which worked out great. Another thing I also made was a greek yogurt dip for them. I simply used plain greek yogurt with some dry ranch dressing mix mixed in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I used yellow squash and Added a packet of dry ranch mix instead of salt and garlic salt. Best fried squash ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These were really disappointing for me. My grandmother had an amazing recipe for "fried" squash that she baked in the oven, using summer squash/zucchini and cracker meal. I expected this to taste different and tried not to compare the two, but I just really didn't think these were very good. The corn meal breading wasn't great and they were quite bland. The squash on the inside was nice, but there are so many great recipes for butternut squash that are far less trouble and tastier than this one. I'm glad I tried this, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Despite my failed attempts to make this healthier, it turned out really good! I originally tried to bake it but that didn't work at all (after 20 minutes the bottoms were still not getting crispy/golden), so I ended up frying them anyway, and they still turned out great! I did follow a couple of reviewers' suggestions. I cut the milk in half, added hot sauce to the egg mixture (which didn't even add a hint of spiciness so I won't bother next time), and added extra salt/garlic powder/onion powder. We had to still add some more salt after frying but they were REALLY GOOD. I'm not usually a huge veggie person but I think I liked these better than fries! Might try them with bread crumbs next time and try baking them that way, but these are definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Excellent basic recipe. If you like things highly seasoned, triple each spice (at least). I also add a couple of dashes of hot sauce to the egg/milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Oh yum! This was great! I had an extra large yellow squash to use up and wasnt for sure what I wanted to make with it. I started reading that they could be fried up like fried green tomatoes and decided to use this recipe. My hubby gobbled them all up! He loved them so much! I did only add 1/4 cup cornmeal since Im not much of a cornmeal person, and then just added 1/4 cup more flour. It was plenty of cornmeal in my opinion. I could taste the cornmeal perfectly fine on the finished product. I may even reduce it slightly more next time. I will for sure be making this again when we have an abundance of squash. It would be great with all different varieties. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I thought this recipe was delicious! I think that next time I make it, I will try dipping the squash in buttermilk, instead of milk and egg. I think it will make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States