Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
You have got to try this recipe!Oh my gosh!!! This is delicious! I can not stop eating the green tomatoes I fried up using this dredge. The squash was ok, it would have been better, a LOT better had I cut them thin instead of thick. The fried green tomatoes were out of this world. I did change the recipe up a bit by using (I am a season person, the more, the better!)salt, pepper, garlic powder, parsley, and season all in both the egg wash and the flour/corn meal mixture. I put it in a zip lock bag which makes the clean up easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Very, very good! Will be making this one again and again! Thanks for sharing your recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This was great. I used zucchini and onion rings. Finally a way to make zucchini that my family likes. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is the way to do squash. Just use a simple yellow squash, no peeling or seeding. This is the way my Mother and Grandmother taught me to fry squash. Southern comfort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I used yellow squash for this recipe and it was so easy and delicious. Minor recommendations: Instead of using an egg and milk just use the egg. Also, eliminate the spices in the recipe and just use Italian bread crumbs. In summary, slice the squash, dip in egg, shake in Italian bread crumbs and fry...UM..UM...GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This was a good breading recipe for squash, but I am partial to Zattarains breading. I think if I would have added a lot more seasonings to suit my taste-buds it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEHIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hahnville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
The original recipe was quite bland for my taste so, on the second batch, I added approx. 1/2 tsp of salt, garlic powder, onion powder and black pepper to the batter. I shallow fried and flipped halfway through cooking. We dipped in ketchup, and everyone in the family gobbled it up! The next day, we made it again with both squash and potatoes. With the minor adjustments to the seasoning, this is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I thought this was ok. My husband liked it pretty well though. I've never had fried squash, so maybe I just didn't like it because it was a different taste/texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
When I made this recipe, I used yellow squash instead and i was a big hit. My boyfriend's mother was so impressed that she upgraded her fried squash recipe to include eggs, milk, and flour. It makes the squash crunchy outside and soft inside. My mom, roommate, dad, little brother, everyone I know loves this recipe. We've even made it with green tomatoes and zucchini. Being from the south, we love things fried, and this recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! My husband is one of those "it can't be as good as my mother's" critics. This was the first time I'd ever even tried to fry squash! I used the regular yellow squash - no peeling or seeding, and between him and our 3 year old, I don't know who ate more! It was easy and just perfect! Thanks for sharing this! It is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELR2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States