Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
My family likes things crispy, so I cooked this a little while longer and really coated them. My family also requested I cut different sized pieces, so I did. The recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayla_newbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Excellent! For my first time cooking squash, that is. I spent the first 36 years of my life not eating squash, and finally my husband talked me into trying it. I love it! And this recipe was perfect. I'll use it every time I fry squash. Oh, one thing though. It needed more salt. Sprinkle a little kosher salt on each one after they come out of the grease. Kosher salt makes them PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is the way my grandmother in TN made it too! I hate going to restaurants that just use plain flour batter ... it's just not right, LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpsrabbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Love it! Just finished eating our first batch...so simple, so good. Our seasonings: 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp black peppper. We mixed this in with the flour, then dumped in a paper bag. Shook the squash slices in this 1st, then dipped in egg/milk mixture, then dredged lightly in cornmeal. Fried in 1/2" oil as directed. Super crispy and the squash was melt-in-your-mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I used yellow summer squash (crookneck squash my mom used to call them) My husband said this was just like his grandma used to make. He was eating it before it even cooled and it's a good thing I made extra since he was devouring it so quickly. I did salt it lightly as it came out of the hot oil. Thanks, I'll make this again it was so much better than cooking the frozen pre-breaded ones from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Ohhh so good! I have tried to fry squash before, but it never turned out right. I found this recipe and fell in love! Very yummy. I did dip them into Italian stye breadcrumbs and flour instead of the cornmeal and they turned out perfect. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
yellow squash and zuchini are both good with this recipe BUT when those are out of season the taste not nearly as good I only use self rising flour as well. love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
We really enjoyed this, although I made it with thickly sliced extra large zucchini from my garden. Added a few more spices, 1/2 tsp. each of salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder as someone had suggested, and also a couple good dashes of some Dizzy Pig salt free BBQ spice, and it was super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
this recipe was bland and not worth the calories :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
OH MY! This is a great recipe! Our neighbors had given us squash & zucchini from their garden. I went in search for recipes, and found this one. My husband and I hadn't had fried veggies since we were kids! To the flour mixture, I added garlic powder(omitted garlic salt), onion powder, sea salt & course ground pepper. I was out of milk, so I used evaporated milk. I dipped the veggies in flour mixture, egg & milk, and back in the flour mixture. As soon as I took the veggies out of the pan, I added more salt. I had fixed a big meal, but most of it was left over, due to us filling up on the squash & zucchini! We had some left over and wanted to enjoy these again. I placed the veggies on a cookie sheet, and placed under broiler until nice and crisp. I repeated on other side. They were just as good as the day before. I'll certainly make again & again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States