Country Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made a few changes to this recipe, and I think it really spiced it up! First, I didn't have any plain cornmeal so I used Jiffy cornbread mix. Secondly, I took the advice of another reviewer and used Lawry Seasoning Salt..a lot of it. Finally, I added cayenne pepper. Keep the heat over medium-low or else the oil will begin to burn after frying several batches. Serve with ketchup or even barbeque sauce, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmaguire81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Sooo good! Tastes just like my grandmama use to make! I also tried it with only italian bread crumbs and egg, also a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
AWESOME! SOOO GOOD! Use the egg! It is a MUST! Make as recipes states, I just added a pinch more sea salt. Worth trying! Dont let the bad reviews change your mind! You will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
At first this was bland, I had to add double salt, garlic powder, onion powder and paprika and then added hot sauce to the egg mixture. Then they were delicious and everyone wanted more!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Cerda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I made these at the last minute and it turned out great! My family loved it! One suggestion though; eat immediately! The squash will turn soggy after a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela G. Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is a good base recipe, but it definitely needs more seasoning. After cooking the first batch I jazzed up the dredge by adding garlic powder, onion powder, paprika,and cayanne pepper. I also double dipped my squash for a thicker batter/crust. With these adjustments this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is pretty good, I'm from the deep south, down on the coast, and we do ours: Dip in Milk and Egg mixture then in Flour, Salt, Pepper mixture: FRY, then Sprinkle with Sugar, it is wonderful, my children, my husband, nor myself like squash, but we love it made like this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made this last night and absolutely loved it! I used both squash and zuccini which worked out great. Another thing I also made was a greek yogurt dip for them. I simply used plain greek yogurt with some dry ranch dressing mix mixed in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I used yellow squash and Added a packet of dry ranch mix instead of salt and garlic salt. Best fried squash ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These were really disappointing for me. My grandmother had an amazing recipe for "fried" squash that she baked in the oven, using summer squash/zucchini and cracker meal. I expected this to taste different and tried not to compare the two, but I just really didn't think these were very good. The corn meal breading wasn't great and they were quite bland. The squash on the inside was nice, but there are so many great recipes for butternut squash that are far less trouble and tastier than this one. I'm glad I tried this, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States