Country Cottage Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was excellent. I cant stop eating it. I didnt read the directions fully so I ended up mixing the mayo, onions, and cottage cheese in a bowl. Then I tossed in the potatoes. Still amazing. This is my "go to" recipe from now one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This is the best potato salad ever!! I used russet potatoes cause that's all I had and peeled them, boiled and put them in the fridge for a couple hours, then prepared them as directed but added salt with each layer. I used white pepper instead cause that was all I had. Everybody loved it!! Making it again today using golden potatoes. The cottage cheese is just so creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. Only change I made was to add 3 hard boiled eggs. Will only use this recipe in the future, it's that good. I agree on the Hellmans (Best Foods)....it is required for the right taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I will be making this, as I've ALWAYS loved potatoes with cottage cheese!!! BTW, for those of us west of the Mississippi...HELLMANS=BEST FOODS and YES I only use Best Foods mayo, it's the only one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by n0rthernlitegurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I made this for my family get together and everybody absolutely loved it. The ones who don't even like potato salad were raving over it. Great recipe and very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Increased amount of potAtoes and used russet potatoes. Decreased amount of mayo and cottage cheese and it was still creamy enough. My husband couldn't believe it wasn't store bought. I think next time I will add celery and maybe radishe for color and crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This is a terrific recipe. Every time I've made this, I've gotten bigger then HUGE red potatoes that I should half and then slice. Something about the cottage cheese and the mayo make this recipe just stand out...it's creamy-goodness. The only thing my kids don't like, its the skins. However, they all love this recipe very much. Other then the skins...I haven't changed the recipe not one bit. Love the flavor, love the creamy-ness and love the fact that it's really easy to put together. It's worth trying. Ty and also another note...I only use Helliman's mayo...ONLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I am sorry but I have to add this YOU MUST use Hellmans Mayo it does not work for some reason with other MAYOS!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This last spring I went to a potluck that had this potato salad and it is far better than it sounds. The only variation was that the other cook's version included chopped black olives, diced tomatoes and finely minced basil. She said that sometimes she uses cilantro instead of basil and once even used minced capers (just a few) and even that was a slamming success. You are in for a big surprise with this potato salad =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Brought me back to my childhood- Now I know how mom and nana made their potato salad! I halved the recipe, but used 4 medium potatoes. We found this to be a little too "dressed" despite the additional potato, and so will reduce the mayo & cottage cheese the next time we make it. I can't thank you enough for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States