Country Cooking Slow Cooker Neck Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carmen Maysonet
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I make it for my fiancé but instead of slow cooker I bake it . I season it well with sazon, adobo, oregano, thyme, cayenne pepper, minced garlic , chopped cilantro, onions and green bell peppers. I add the water and vinegar, cover tight with aluminum foil and toss in the oven to bake for about 2 1/2 hours for 2 lbs of pork neck bone. Baste every half hour ,,remove foil towards end to brown a little and you have an awesome tender finger licking meal,,,oh and I serve it with rice,,today I'm making rice with pigeon peas (arroz con gandules) ... My version of Southern/Latino recipe but trust me its awesome!! Will add pic when its done !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Maysonet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe was perfect, Very similar to the recipe my husbands aunt uses for the family get togethers (she always brings a crockpot full of pork bones) I added green bell peppers and cajun seasoning along with some fresh minces garlic.... I cooked about 6 lbs of the pork neck bones. served with rice and southern green beans! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Used with beef neckbones and WOW! Simple. Tender. Scrumptious. Served with rotini pasta and kids (ages 2 & 4) gobbled it up! Husband did a happy dance when he realized there was more left in the slow cooker after table was bare. Make sure you have some bread for sopping up sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Interesting idea and the smell was worth waking up to but the recipe seemed incomplete. I had to separate the neck bone from the liquid and cook down the broth. I pulled what little meat there is off the bones and added it back to the reduced broth. I re-seasoned it, thickened it and then served it over rice. The country kid in you will then come alive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe was great and easy! Will be a go to in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Made these tonight. Awesome. I did make a few changes, I omitted the vinegar, my mother is from a deeper south ( Mississippi ) vinegar is just used for canning only. Also omitted the thyme b/c I was out. Used more salt. Pork needs a lot of salt. TG we don't have high blood pressure. I also put texjoy steak seasoning heavily on each pork neck due to slow cooker breaking down the seasoning. I did use the 4 cups of liquid - 2 cups beef broth & 2 cups water. Due to the fact i cooked 7 lbs. The flavor was amazing! Cooked white rice, southern fried cabbage and skillet fried potatoes. Yes a truly southern meal! My family loved it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I ended up with extra fluid too. I drained the fluid and let it cool, first on the counter and then in the regrigerator, removed the grease that collected on the surface and replaced some of the water used to cook rice with the de-greased fluid. This recipe was then served over that rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Made the recipe as written. Pulled the meat out at the end and cut the heat, used the remaining heat to cook turnip greens in the broth. Pulled the meat from the bones and put it in the greens. Served with rice cooked with 3 3/4 cups of chicken broth and 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, butter and salt. Served the greens and meat over a bed of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waffles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Delicious!!! I made them for my mother who usually and she loved it. It took way longer than suggested as it took 7.5 hours to cook. Yes, the meat will be watery if left alone but I added a bag of soaked black eyed peas about 2.5 hours before it was done. It was very flavorful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Cooking neckbones today with cabbage, and baked macaroni and cheese. Did someone say they used pork chops as a substitute for neckbones?? How do you do that? Totally different cooking style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife2248

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States