Country Cooking Slow Cooker Neck Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I grew up eating NECK BONES my mother would make it into a Purlo(cook it with rice). My husband is from Calif and he claimed he did not like pork neck bones:) Soooo I got some put them in the crock pot then put bbq sause on them told him is was short ribs he nearly scraped the pot. Have never told him the truth:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This sounds like a very good way to tenderize the neckbones so the meat falls away;, but what would you serve it with, my grandmother used to make us neckbones and pinto beans and this recipe is vey similar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I really liked the flavor but there wasn't enough meat on the bones to make it worth the trouble. You need to be a picker of the bones to enjoy this one. I cooked mine for 6 hours and the meat still didn't fall off the bones. So I continued to cook them for 4 more hours (started it at 6:00am) and the meat was still clinging to the bones. As for what to serve it with: I made a brown gray and wide egg noodles with corn on the side. Like I said the flavor was awesome! Just too time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Craft Kirkman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden, Missouri, USA
Living In: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
My family LOVED these! I grew up on neck bones and I myself have not had any so good. The ONLY thing that I warn anyone about is not to let them slow cook too long. Speaking from experience - All of the meat had fallen off the bone and literally disintigrated in with the fat and grissle making dinner a little more challenging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Great recipe. Authentic Southern taste. Fall off the bone tender flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hernando Brownie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hernando, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Cooking neckbones today with cabbage, and baked macaroni and cheese. Did someone say they used pork chops as a substitute for neckbones?? How do you do that? Totally different cooking style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife2248

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Could not find neck bones, so I used pork chops. It was good, but very watery. Next time less water, and I added more spices, it was too bland. But still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Made these tonight. Awesome. I did make a few changes, I omitted the vinegar, my mother is from a deeper south ( Mississippi ) vinegar is just used for canning only. Also omitted the thyme b/c I was out. Used more salt. Pork needs a lot of salt. TG we don't have high blood pressure. I also put texjoy steak seasoning heavily on each pork neck due to slow cooker breaking down the seasoning. I did use the 4 cups of liquid - 2 cups beef broth & 2 cups water. Due to the fact i cooked 7 lbs. The flavor was amazing! Cooked white rice, southern fried cabbage and skillet fried potatoes. Yes a truly southern meal! My family loved it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is a super-cheap and super-easy recipe that can basically be made from pantry ingredients except for the neck bones. The pork is juicy and tender, and from almost four pounds of neck bones, I got about three cups of shredded pork. The nearly four pounds of bones cost me about $6 in central Virginia. The only drawback is the bits of gristle and fragments of bones that I had to spit out nearly every time I ate a helping, even though I tried to carefully pick through the meat after removing it from the bones. I ate pulled pork sandwiches and burritos for several days, so all in all, this recipe will join my other favorite offal recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Made the recipe as written. Pulled the meat out at the end and cut the heat, used the remaining heat to cook turnip greens in the broth. Pulled the meat from the bones and put it in the greens. Served with rice cooked with 3 3/4 cups of chicken broth and 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, butter and salt. Served the greens and meat over a bed of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waffles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States