Country Cooking Slow Cooker Neck Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This sounds like a very good way to tenderize the neckbones so the meat falls away;, but what would you serve it with, my grandmother used to make us neckbones and pinto beans and this recipe is vey similar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I really liked the flavor but there wasn't enough meat on the bones to make it worth the trouble. You need to be a picker of the bones to enjoy this one. I cooked mine for 6 hours and the meat still didn't fall off the bones. So I continued to cook them for 4 more hours (started it at 6:00am) and the meat was still clinging to the bones. As for what to serve it with: I made a brown gray and wide egg noodles with corn on the side. Like I said the flavor was awesome! Just too time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Craft Kirkman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden, Missouri, USA
Living In: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Could not find neck bones, so I used pork chops. It was good, but very watery. Next time less water, and I added more spices, it was too bland. But still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I grew up eating NECK BONES my mother would make it into a Purlo(cook it with rice). My husband is from Calif and he claimed he did not like pork neck bones:) Soooo I got some put them in the crock pot then put bbq sause on them told him is was short ribs he nearly scraped the pot. Have never told him the truth:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Great recipe. Authentic Southern taste. Fall off the bone tender flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hernando Brownie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hernando, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very tasty, next time I dont think I'll be putting in as much water though. Gotta love budget-friendly recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Followed the recipe, but it was watery, and the meat had very little flavor. I was hoping to find a recipe to use an inexpensive cut of meat, but this wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is a super-cheap and super-easy recipe that can basically be made from pantry ingredients except for the neck bones. The pork is juicy and tender, and from almost four pounds of neck bones, I got about three cups of shredded pork. The nearly four pounds of bones cost me about $6 in central Virginia. The only drawback is the bits of gristle and fragments of bones that I had to spit out nearly every time I ate a helping, even though I tried to carefully pick through the meat after removing it from the bones. I ate pulled pork sandwiches and burritos for several days, so all in all, this recipe will join my other favorite offal recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
My family LOVED these! I grew up on neck bones and I myself have not had any so good. The ONLY thing that I warn anyone about is not to let them slow cook too long. Speaking from experience - All of the meat had fallen off the bone and literally disintigrated in with the fat and grissle making dinner a little more challenging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
While I liked the flavor of this recipe, I would not recommend the neck bones! They were very fatty and had a lot of not so great parts. The meat was tender and I did halve the water per other comments. I would use this recipe on another cut of pork no problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States