Country Club Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
We love this recipe. I do not use any liquid. Simply dry roast on a rack inside the roaster. I rub the salt crust on the roast using a large sheet of wax paper underneath to catch extra and to make easy cleanup. Also, I like to let the salt covering set up for at least an hour before cooking. We really enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Way to salty .... and did nothing for the meat, would not do serve this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! I only loosely covered the roast with foil. This was great for a main meal and then later as a sandwich. So so good. I also have used this recipe and method on lesser cuts of meat and they turned out beautifully as well. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I am a chef also and this is a great recipe for prime rib. I would agree with someone elses review about not covering the meat. Two more good tricks is to cover the meat in the salt and a steak seasoning blend then let set over night to soak in the meat. Then after it is baked and sets about 10-15 min. the salt on top has formed a crust, then you simply remove the salt crust and it will not be as salty. All that flavor goes into the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I followed the directions in that I used the kosher salt, pepper, garlic mixture. Coated my roast really well. I used a 5 pound roast. And then I took it outside andput it on my smoker with a good dose of hickory. 3.5 hours later, perfection. I have a meat thermometer. I set it at medium rare and left the thing alone. Never let my temp get over 250. Tried to keep it around 225 for the most part. This was fantastic. My family tore it up. Thanks for the idea! (this was similar to another recipe i used from here that called for a smoker to cook with, that was where i got the idea to smoke it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This was my first ever prime rib and it turned out just OK. I think the recipe was fine - it was probably just not a great piece of meat. I would have liked a little more detail in the recipe - because it was my first time - I had issues like, does it go on the roasting pan rack? Or in the water? I know it's a stupid question, but when you're cooking a $50 piece of meat for the first time - you get easily confused. We decided that prime rib isn't worth cooking at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Used a 3.5 pound roast and eyeballed the measurements. I did cook it more like the last reviewer, starting at a higher temperature and then reducing the temp for the remaining time. Didn't bother with the water bath after reading one review. Also, I just used seasoning salt instead of Kosher and added a bit of thyme. The results were terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This was excellent! It was my first attempt at making prime rib so I chose a 3 pound roast and cut the seasonings in half. After reviewing many recipes, I decided to roast the meat uncovered at 500 degrees for 15 minutes followed by 325 degrees until done (about 1 1/2 hours total). I like my meat medium rare so I removed it when it measured 125 degrees in the center(the temperature will continue to rise). I let it rest for 20 minutes and scraped off the excess salt before carving. For the au jus I used a packet mix which was great, however, diluting the scraped seasonings with water would have made a nice au jus too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Awesome!!! I've tried some of the other recipes & this is the only one that tasted the way prime rib is suppose to taste. I followed the recipe exactly the way it was written. My family does not go out for prime rib anymore. They just ask me to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
I prefer to use more seasoning and less salt, but great otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States