Country Club Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This recipe has turned out excellently for me every time. I use Keg spice as the blend and just follow the cooking directions. I love it for family occasions when I don't want to spend the whole day in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catinblack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I cook this specialty a few times a year and have tried a few different recipes. In personal opinion this one stands out from other recipes I have tried. I of course leave the fat on, if there are people who do not like the fat, they can cut it off after it cooks, but it does add to the flavor. This produces a very moist meat, I also take it out at 110-115. I must say bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
bringing the meat to 145 is amlost Medium Well and letting it sit in the oven at 200 degrees is going to make for some very grey, dry beef. The rost will raise a good 10 degrees after you pull it from the oven so pull it at 110 for rare, 120 for medium rare, 130 for medium- anything after that- well, god help you(remember, you will still get a few medium well- well slice on the end of the roast). As for those people who said they thought it was too salty, are you sure you used kosher salt? While a cup of salt is probably too much for a 5 lb roast, kosher salt won't make it super salty tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
PUT IT ON THE Rotteserie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
it was too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Too salty but excellent roasting time estimate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Read the other reviewer comments below before starting this recipe! Mine is just my story.... OK, I admit, I was dumb, and I did not read the reviews before I started this recipe. Halfway through the cooking process, I took a peek at the roast and was horrified (in a chef/cook sort of way). The meat was grey looking and I couldn't see how it was going to look any prettier in an hour...this was my Christmas meal, and I do like to "present" the meal at the table. So, I panicked and decided to read the other comments to this recipe - I do wish I had done so prior to placing the meat in the oven... silly me. I ended up dumping the water, uncovering the roast, scraping off some of the salt and it came out OK. Some of my guests felt it was a bit salty (especially if you like to eat the crunchy outside of the meat), but I think it was OK -- which is not a good thing with such an expensive cut of meat. If you are consious of the amount of money you spend on a good cut of meat, I would stick with the "tired and true" recipe which one of the other folks who commented recaped for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
If you like institutional buffet food, this is the prime rib recipe for you. I think prime rib is a far too expensive and special a cut of meat to treat this way. This isn't roasting, it's steaming! For a nice medium rare roast, season with salt and garlic, heat oven to 350°F. Place roast, fat side up, in shallow roasting pan. Insert ovenproof meat thermometer so tip is centered in thickest part of beef, not resting in fat or touching bone. **Do not add water or cover.** Roast 2-1/4 to 2-1/2 hours for medium rare; 2-3/4 to 3 hours for medium doneness. Thermometer should read 115 degrees for rare when you remove the roast from the oven (temperature will increase about 10 degrees while it stands before carving).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Please do not trim the fat from your rib because you will lose a lot of juice and flavor. The idea of the fat is it 'melts' to continuely baste the meat thoughout the cooking time. This recipe also contains way too much salt. Do not add water to the pan and do not cover the meat at all during the cooking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I kinda used this recipe & some of the other recipes too! I used my meat therm. It turned out great. I felt like Chef Boyrdee !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States