Country Club Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
If you like institutional buffet food, this is the prime rib recipe for you. I think prime rib is a far too expensive and special a cut of meat to treat this way. This isn't roasting, it's steaming! For a nice medium rare roast, season with salt and garlic, heat oven to 350°F. Place roast, fat side up, in shallow roasting pan. Insert ovenproof meat thermometer so tip is centered in thickest part of beef, not resting in fat or touching bone. **Do not add water or cover.** Roast 2-1/4 to 2-1/2 hours for medium rare; 2-3/4 to 3 hours for medium doneness. Thermometer should read 115 degrees for rare when you remove the roast from the oven (temperature will increase about 10 degrees while it stands before carving).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I am a chef also and this is a great recipe for prime rib. I would agree with someone elses review about not covering the meat. Two more good tricks is to cover the meat in the salt and a steak seasoning blend then let set over night to soak in the meat. Then after it is baked and sets about 10-15 min. the salt on top has formed a crust, then you simply remove the salt crust and it will not be as salty. All that flavor goes into the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Please don't spoil a great cut of beef by cooking it like this. It will be either braised or steamed, depending on the amount of liquid you use. Prime rib should always be dry roasted. This may be good, but not nearly as good as dry roasted on a rack, baked slowly. The rub sounds fine, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Read the other reviewer comments below before starting this recipe! Mine is just my story.... OK, I admit, I was dumb, and I did not read the reviews before I started this recipe. Halfway through the cooking process, I took a peek at the roast and was horrified (in a chef/cook sort of way). The meat was grey looking and I couldn't see how it was going to look any prettier in an hour...this was my Christmas meal, and I do like to "present" the meal at the table. So, I panicked and decided to read the other comments to this recipe - I do wish I had done so prior to placing the meat in the oven... silly me. I ended up dumping the water, uncovering the roast, scraping off some of the salt and it came out OK. Some of my guests felt it was a bit salty (especially if you like to eat the crunchy outside of the meat), but I think it was OK -- which is not a good thing with such an expensive cut of meat. If you are consious of the amount of money you spend on a good cut of meat, I would stick with the "tired and true" recipe which one of the other folks who commented recaped for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
I wanted to make my man his favorite meat for his birthday and it turned out HORRIBLE. Whoever said all that kosher salt won't make the meat too salty was lying through their teeth. It smelled good but when it came down to it nobody ate more than a couple of bites, not even the dog. I wasted a lot of money on that expensive cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Please do not trim the fat from your rib because you will lose a lot of juice and flavor. The idea of the fat is it 'melts' to continuely baste the meat thoughout the cooking time. This recipe also contains way too much salt. Do not add water to the pan and do not cover the meat at all during the cooking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This was excellent! It was my first attempt at making prime rib so I chose a 3 pound roast and cut the seasonings in half. After reviewing many recipes, I decided to roast the meat uncovered at 500 degrees for 15 minutes followed by 325 degrees until done (about 1 1/2 hours total). I like my meat medium rare so I removed it when it measured 125 degrees in the center(the temperature will continue to rise). I let it rest for 20 minutes and scraped off the excess salt before carving. For the au jus I used a packet mix which was great, however, diluting the scraped seasonings with water would have made a nice au jus too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Awesome!!! I've tried some of the other recipes & this is the only one that tasted the way prime rib is suppose to taste. I followed the recipe exactly the way it was written. My family does not go out for prime rib anymore. They just ask me to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Way to salty .... and did nothing for the meat, would not do serve this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! I only loosely covered the roast with foil. This was great for a main meal and then later as a sandwich. So so good. I also have used this recipe and method on lesser cuts of meat and they turned out beautifully as well. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States