Country Club Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
The meat was very tender. That could be because it was a great piece of meat. WAY TOO SALTY! I would look around for other ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I cooked an eight bone rib roast which just barely fit into my oven. The oven mfg. said to lower my shelf to the last rung or just above the gas rows. It was the best med. well roast I ever cooked. And for those who liked it med. rare they got cuts from the middle. All were very happy that Christmas. : = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
We made this for New Years and even though I cut back on the salt..it was way too salty. I get nervous using kosher salt so I was cautious to use 1 cup with a 5 lb roast. Also the cover may have been too much..it got way over done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica L Antel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
i used a variation on this recipe. Used the salt but also added an applewood rub. Raised heat to 500 degrees and then lowered to the 325. DID NOT cover this roast. We cooked a 14 lb ribless for 2. 25 hrs then removed and covered. We served it for a New Years party and were told it was the best prime rib our guests had had in their lives!!! Way to end a first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas! I didn't have the kosher salt so I used some garlic pepper/salt along with the coursely ground pepper and minced garlic. I thought the first time it might have been a fluke because it came out DELICIOUS! So I made it for Christmas, too. Absolutely wonderful! Will definitely make it again and was SO EASY! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This lives up to the PRIME part of prime rib. We don't have prime rib when we go to the restaurants cause it's too expensive & this just hits the spot like nothing we'd get at any restaurant for a fraction of the price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I think that many of the low raters aren't used to cooking a salt encrusted prime rib. This recipe works well, but you might read a few other salt encrusted recipes to get a better feel of what you are going to do. If done right, the salt crust crumbles off easily and leaves a lovely seasoned prime rib. I happened to double the amount of pepper, added 2 teaspoons of ginger powder and a teaspoon of onion powder to the recipe. It was fabulously moist throughout, rare in the center and medium towards the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
My girlfriend Sandy had given me this recipe years ago. It if fantastic! The Kosher salt does not make the roast too salty. I use about 4 cloves of garlic that I smoosh into a paste instead of the garlic powder. And I cook mine to med. rare. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I wrapped mine in double foil. Then the last 15 min sprinkled top with salt and broiled for remaining time. Came out great. Making it for Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States