Country Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Newcook
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I used boneless chicken and seasoned it with s&p but added garlic powder and paprika. I also cut mushroom,onion,and less than half of a jalapeño. I boiled the broth with chicken cubes no water just sour cream and one spoon of flour. It was a bit to thin to me so I added a little mushroom soup I had. Then I finally put it all together and let it simmer served over white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
HUGE HIT. Only difference was I drizzled in organic chicken broth and added 2 cups flour for thickness and more butter. So delicious, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
So, I didn't actually make this recipe. But I saw the potential and thought I'd share with ya'll about my changes. I chopped some small bell peppers, as well as some onion and mushroom. Sour cream is way too fattening so I decided to use greek yogurt, non fat and it adds a lovely tang. also, way too much butter! I used 2 tbspns. I reduced the water drastically and, since I made a smaller amount of chicken, only one can of broth. The chicken I seasoned with parsley, basil, salt, and pepper. I added cornstarch for thicker gravy and topped it with chopped green onions. It was delicious! Spicy and tangy, perfect over sticky rice. I hope my healthier alternative helps someone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doofgal29
Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Tasty and different. Gravy was thin. Probably a little more sodium than is needed. The family enjoyed it and it was easy to make with simple ingredients that were generally on hand in the cupboard or fridge. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by late4supper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I use a little extra spice to my chicken with sour cream gravy. while cooking I add 1 bay leaf and about 6 whole allspice balls. Take out after cooking and in the end add some paprika. It makes a very good gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
My family really enjoyed this dish. We put it over mashed potatos, then for the final touch sprinkled with bacon pieces- YUM! - next time I will halve the butter since it seems excessive- I used boneless skinless chicken breast cut up, and they turned out very moist. I added garlic and red pepper to the butter when sauteing the chicken which added a little something "extra." For the gravy I used 5 cups boillon/water total, then when I added it to the chicken I simmered it for 30 minutes uncovered. I also added 2 Tbsp of cornstarch to thicken it. A tip for those who get clumps is to put about 1/4 cup of gravy in a bowl sprinkle it with the cornstarch and whisk VERY well. Add it to the pot and you get a nice smooth thick gravy. You'll also have lot of leftovers to enjoy later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
It was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was sooo yummy!!! i changed it up a but and used chicken breats, halfed the recipe and added lots more pepper. I did thicken it up just a tad and it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Thought this looked fairly quick and easy...used 4lbs of leg quarters for economy..seasoned with poultry seasoning/salt pepper/garlic salt, browned in EVOO with freshly mince garlic and onion...added chopped carrots for added nutrition and color..not sure what i did wrong..but I had way too much liquid..i thickened with cornstartch, added extra sour cream and cream cheese, and it was still almost too runny. Took the chicken and removed the meat from the bone, served over rice to help absorb some of the sauce. Overall, not bad...next time I will let the broth cool after removing the chicken so I can skim off some of the fat, and I will use some of the broth to cook the rice/noodles in, adding the cooled broth to the sour cream until it is the consistancy that I desire. Good basic recipe..lots of opportunity to add flavor./// Made this again with seasoned cubed chic breasts, left out the bullion and water, just used the recomended amount of broth, didn't have sour cream, used up the tub of ranch dip instead..served over rice with grn beans. i did thicken the broth with cornstarch before adding the "sour cream". Everyone went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Photo by Yumms
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I think as others have pointed out, this is a great base recipe. I followed it almost exactly, except I added a chopped onion and fresh mushrooms, and some seasonings - (salt/pepper, rosemary, thyme) I think I would attempt this again with a few minor changes - the whole stick of butter along with the fat from the chicken skins, really is a bit much. I spent a lot of time skimming fat from the top of this dish before I was able to serve it. So next time I would definitely reduce the butter by 1/2, and use skinless chicken. It also needed to be thickened with corn starch quite a bit to produce a "gravy". But overall, an easy, economical recipe that I will enjoy playing around with & tweaking to suit my own taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Firehouse Country Chicken

Satisfy a big hungry crew with this hearty firehouse chicken and sausage stew.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States