Country Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was a huge hit here. Nothing fancy or gourmet quality, but this is major comfort food. I used chicken stock as it is what I had in the pantry. I served this over long grain white rice and my family raved over this simple dish. I used 6 boneless chicken breasts and seasoned with Season-All, fresh ground black pepper and some paprika. I simmered this about 90 minutes. It (sauce) was rather thin though and I added some flour/water paste to try to thicken it some. Thanks, this is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This came out excellent, but I am giving it only four stars because I agree with previous reviewers, that it is a good starting point but needs some modifications. I like a thicker sauce, so I left out the water, and cut the amount of butter in half. I started by sauteing one finely grated onion in the butter, then added 4 large chicken thighs dredged in flour, along with some fresh rosemary and sage and some chicken rub. Since I happened to have some leftover red wine on hand, I added some of that too after the chicken had browned and let half of it bubble away before adding the broth. I used skin-on chicken pieces, and it still came out very rich, next time I'll try to use skinless thighs. I only added one heaped tablespoon of sour cream which was enough to give the sauce an extra silky texture without mellowing the flavor. My husband took one bite of this and was hooked. Served with mashed potatoes, string beans, corn and buttermilk biscuits it makes for a real "country meal".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
great base recipe i added half a red onion and celery sauted then dredged chicken breasts in flour and garlic /onion powder salt /pepper browned added broth boulion added half the amount of the water , sour cream two cap fulls of lemon juice paprika and a drop of thyme served with very long and very thin ziti like macaroni...COULD DEFINITLY HAVE USED SOME SLICED MUSHROOMS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
3 stars because the original is way too high in calories, fats and sodium. I made major changes to ingredients cutting way back on butter----1-T for flavor, a little canola oil and spraying the nonstick pot with PAM. Threw in a package of sliced baby bella mushrooms & a diced onion first, cooked them a til onion was transparent then removed added a little more oil and browned the chicken a little. Used skinless chicken thighs(more flavor) and breast strips. Returned the onion mushroom mix to pot, added seasonings--salt, pepper, poultry seasoning(all to taste)& 3 cans of low sodium chicken stock and simmered until meat was tender. Used 8 oz. each of low fat & fat free sour cream. If it needs thickening add a little corn starch and water before adding sour cream. Served over instant brown rice(I added a little onion powder to it) and tossed some chopped green onions on top. A bit more work but I'm suppose to be on a low sodium, low fat, low everything, if it tastes good spit it out, diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Stephenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe, I encourage those who found it blan, etc. to read the reviews paying attention to some great suggestions. I made this and instead of bell peppers, I used a few anaheim peppers instead. I also payed attention to the "down sides" mentioned and it turned out wonderful. If nothing more, it is a wonderful base, so don't just knock it, play with it, become creative. Fun, fun, fun... Wolf...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was a good recipe that could be a great recipe with some changes. I read the other reviews and followed the advice to skip the water. I also dusted the chicken parts with flour when I sprinkled the S & P on, to give the liquid some thickness, and also added some paprika. Next time I'll use more flour, maybe dredging the chicken parts in the flour will thicken the liquid a bit more. After browning the chicken, I removed it from the pan and sauteed 1 large onion and 2 bell peppers, then added the chicken back & followed the rest of the recipe (minus the water) and next time, I'll leave the peppers out. The onions were a great addition but the peppers were just too limp by the end of cooking. I'll make this again but, it really does need some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
my daughter made this for dinner and it turned out great. she used boneless/skinless breast, accidentaly took out wrong package , so she cubed it and followed rest of recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
My family loved this. Taking cues from reviews about the gravy being too thin, I eliminated the water and it came out great. I also sprinkled with paprika as well as the salt & pepper. Very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love this recipe! The only thing I did differently was to sprinkle paprika on the chicken before browning in addition to the salt and pepper, and I serve it over egg noodles. I do like the idea of thickening the gravy because it is too thin, but still really tasty! My kids loved it so much it is now the requested birthday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Great simple dish with a lot of flexibility. Great to use as a base. I followed the recipe but added onions and carrots. My husband and sons loved it and I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurricane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Firehouse Country Chicken

Satisfy a big hungry crew with this hearty firehouse chicken and sausage stew.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States