Country Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was really good! Comfort food at it's best! I did not use water. I used a 32 oz carton of chicken broth instead and skipped the bouillon. This made a very tasty gravy. After I browned the chicken I removed it and added diced onion and celery to the pan and stirred it around to loosen up the drippings in the pan. I put the chicken back in and added the broth. Then followed the rest of the recipe as directed. Served it over rice with a side of collards. Too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Carrigan-Lawrence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
we loved this so much - we feed the neighbors!!! though i ended up using another reviewer's suggestion of cornstartch + milk - it was still too thin for our tastes. so i ended up adding 3 heaping T of flour to make it more gravy-like. and there's still a TON leftover that i froze for a fast and impressive 2nd meal. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was Great! Everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe for my large family and had a lot of extra gravy, So I froze the gravy and later thawed it out and thickened it with cornstarch and used it for a base in my chicken pot pie! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
My kids gave this a 5, I would say for because it is very watery and I even read the reviews and hardly used any water. I cooked the chicken about 2 hours. The chicken tasted SOOOOO good, I could taste the butter!! We served with rice and it was incredible. I will try thickening the liquid up more next time, but this is an excellent recipe as is. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Excellent! This is true southern /country cooking where we call most sauces gravy! For everyone who said this is not a true gravy is right but in the south this is "country gravy" not thick, gloppy and filled with starch or flour! Loved this and the only change I made was I used chicken broth instead of boullion. It came out a little salty using the broth but was still excellent. This is in my resume box and it will become a household regular! Thanks for this easy, filling and delicious recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurricane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Occasionally, it's nice to go back to the butter-laden cooking of our forebearers. I appreciate the ease of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
The chicken had a good flavor, but the sauce cannot be called a gravy. I used 1/4 cup less water than was called for and it was still VERY runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This recipe is WONDERFUL! I changed a couple things. I seasoned the chicken with garlic powder & poultry season. For the gravy...I only used about 4oz of sour cream, and in a small bowl, I combined 4 tsp of cornstarch & a 1/2 cup of milk. Stir this thoroughly, and mix in with the other ingredients to make a wonderful gravy. When its about 5 mins away from being done, I add a 4oz can of mushrooms. I also added more chicken stock to this to thin it out just a little. We serve this over rice. My fiancé and I loved this, and I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Country Chicken

Satisfy a big hungry crew with this hearty firehouse chicken and sausage stew.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States