Country Chicken Supper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kymaw
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I listened to some of the other reviews and added green pepper, cajun seasoning, garlic, and a pinch of rosemary. I also added a whole can of Rotel instead of tomatoes. With the rotel and cajun seasoning, it was a little on the spicy side but far from bland like some of the reviews stated. Will make again with very similar modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great recipe. I tweaked it a bit to fit my cooking style and preferences. I tend to like my flavors more robust. Thus, I made the following changes to the recipe: Subbed olive oil for vegetable oil. Added chopped stalks of green onions. Used walla sweet onions. Fresh green beans, carrots, and tomatoes, instead of canned. Used chicken broth instead of water. Cooked my rice separately. Added extra cheddar (probably 50-75% more). Added all of the vegetables with the chicken at the beginning instead of just the onions (except the tomatoes - added them and the chicken broth before covering for 20-30 minutes). Added the freshly cooked rice after the potatoes were mostly finished - mixed well so the rice sopped up most of the remaining juices - then added my shredded cheese and stirred well to melt and distribute throughout the dish. Added the following spices to the vegetables as they were cooking: Thyme, Sweet Basil, Mediterranean Oregano, and Parsley. I served roasted zucchini and onions (lightly salted and peppered, and braised with olive oil) to accompany the "Country Chicken Supper". My guests were raving. Great recipe. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very yummy! and easy but took a lil longer then expected but still very easy to make. I only changed just a few things. First I cooked the potatoes with the chicken onion mixture and added lots of Tastefully Simple garlic garlic and season salt. Then omitted the carrots and used chicken broth instead of water and topped it with shredded swiss and mozzarella. It was far better then I had expected!! great healthy stick to your ribs kinda dinner:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holly, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I have been making this recipe for a couple years now. It was bland the first time I made it, so here are the changes I have made over the years. While cooking chicken, add Cajun seasoning (Tony chacheres) or slap yo mama and add minced garlic. I also use rotel or diced tomatoes with Italian seasonings, or have even used salsa for a Mexican flavor. Once everything is added, salt and pepper to add more seasoning. The cheese adds flavor too, so be sure to use alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I had to cook it longer than 20 minutes so the rice would be done. Added chopped green cilies, garlic and cayenne pepper all because I ahd it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I wouldn't say I didn't like it. I wouldn't say I loved it either. It was just OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Easy to make. But bland even with all the extra spices I added. Husband said this one isn't a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This came out fantastic, but only with my changes, which is why I rate it a 4. I added an extra potato and omitted the green beans and carrots. The thought of those vegetables with the rest of the mixture, honestly made my stomach churn, so I didn't dare try it. I used chicken broth in place of water, and added and extra 1/2 cup, totally 1 1/2 cups broth in place of 1 cup water. I did not follow the measurements for salt and pepper, just added to taste. I also added a dash or two of paprika and season all. When I sauteed the onion, I also added 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped. 1/2 cup cheese is definitely not enough. I added in 1/2 cup and mixed together with the rest, then added 1 cup to the top. This still needed salt and pepper to taste with each persons preference, but it came out wonderful. I used 1 can of diced tomatoes with green chile and that gave it a great little kick without overpowering. It all got eaten up, and I will definitely make again. Very easy and quick, but hardy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Excellent dish... I made the modification of using a chicken flavored "rice side" package instead of plain white rice and italian style canned tomatoes. This is now in the rotation of meals to make on a continuing basis...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Surprisingly good for how simple it is. I ended up using sushi rice and frozen carrots because that was all I had on hand but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Algus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States