Country Chicken Supper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Add chicken bouillon cubes (2 or 3) for some added flavor! Also, I used fresh veggies and that helped the flavor as well! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Crush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Filling, easy and usually have these items around house, made as written..kids use ketchup topper, wife used soy sauce and I used franks red hot to customize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
The whole family loved it! We didn't have all the ingredients, so just went with what we had. Omitted the cheese & carrots, used salsa instead of diced tomatoes, onion powder instead of chopped onion. We did have to cook it A LOT longer than this recipe said, so maybe it was referring to Minute Rice? In the future we will cook the rice first. But, as far as taste and the convenience of whipping something up with the stuff we've got on hand, we loved it! Even our picky eater ate a full helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concan, Texas, USA
Living In: Canyon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kymaw
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I listened to some of the other reviews and added green pepper, cajun seasoning, garlic, and a pinch of rosemary. I also added a whole can of Rotel instead of tomatoes. With the rotel and cajun seasoning, it was a little on the spicy side but far from bland like some of the reviews stated. Will make again with very similar modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great recipe. I tweaked it a bit to fit my cooking style and preferences. I tend to like my flavors more robust. Thus, I made the following changes to the recipe: Subbed olive oil for vegetable oil. Added chopped stalks of green onions. Used walla sweet onions. Fresh green beans, carrots, and tomatoes, instead of canned. Used chicken broth instead of water. Cooked my rice separately. Added extra cheddar (probably 50-75% more). Added all of the vegetables with the chicken at the beginning instead of just the onions (except the tomatoes - added them and the chicken broth before covering for 20-30 minutes). Added the freshly cooked rice after the potatoes were mostly finished - mixed well so the rice sopped up most of the remaining juices - then added my shredded cheese and stirred well to melt and distribute throughout the dish. Added the following spices to the vegetables as they were cooking: Thyme, Sweet Basil, Mediterranean Oregano, and Parsley. I served roasted zucchini and onions (lightly salted and peppered, and braised with olive oil) to accompany the "Country Chicken Supper". My guests were raving. Great recipe. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very yummy! and easy but took a lil longer then expected but still very easy to make. I only changed just a few things. First I cooked the potatoes with the chicken onion mixture and added lots of Tastefully Simple garlic garlic and season salt. Then omitted the carrots and used chicken broth instead of water and topped it with shredded swiss and mozzarella. It was far better then I had expected!! great healthy stick to your ribs kinda dinner:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holly, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I have been making this recipe for a couple years now. It was bland the first time I made it, so here are the changes I have made over the years. While cooking chicken, add Cajun seasoning (Tony chacheres) or slap yo mama and add minced garlic. I also use rotel or diced tomatoes with Italian seasonings, or have even used salsa for a Mexican flavor. Once everything is added, salt and pepper to add more seasoning. The cheese adds flavor too, so be sure to use alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I had to cook it longer than 20 minutes so the rice would be done. Added chopped green cilies, garlic and cayenne pepper all because I ahd it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I wouldn't say I didn't like it. I wouldn't say I loved it either. It was just OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Easy to make. But bland even with all the extra spices I added. Husband said this one isn't a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Firehouse Country Chicken

Satisfy a big hungry crew with this hearty firehouse chicken and sausage stew.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States