Country Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe was delicious and easy to cook while doing other things (like rotating loads of laundry on a Sunday). I did make a few changes. First, I doubled the recipe to have leftovers. For the double recipe, I poached 4 chicken breasts (about 2lbs of chicken), cooled them, and put them in the fridge, then chopped them up when I started cooking. I used two cans Campbell's cream of chicken with herbs soup, and I added about 1/2 teaspoon of white pepper for a little zip. I liked the green beans for color - frozen peas would work well too. And we served it up in bowls with mashed potato underneath. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was a huge hit at dinner. I did make some changes for lack of ingredients. I used leftover cooked chicken breast instead of the canned stuff, I didn't have any bacon but threw in some cubed ham instead, I used canned green beans, I didn't have any oregano, but I seasoned it with salt and pepper. I served it with buttermilk biscuits and there were no leftovers of either one of those. I will definintely make this again, it is quick and easy and great use for leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very good!!! I skipped the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I make this every winter and the only thing i do differently is use boiled chicken breast since that is what i have on hand. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Oh. Wow. This is by far one of the best stews I have had in my entire LIFE! Very delicious and yummy. I did make some modifications, as I doubled the recipe because this was made for a woman who just had a baby. I used 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, 3 cloves of fresh garlic, a red onion, and replaced the water with chicken broth. I did not have potatoes, so I substituted dinner rolls as the starch/bread. I also simmered it for a bit longer, because I like my carrots to melt in your mouth and the onions to be super duper soft as well. Very flavor and yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silenceinwinter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
this was great - although I would leave out the green beans, or use sweet peas instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
A great meal on a chilly day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
simple and yummy, i added cooked chicken, celery and omitted the bacon (to cut the fat) and it was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great recipe. Although I tweeked slightly. I used boiled chicken instead of canned. I also used celery insteady of green beans and sauteed the onions, celery and carrots in the bacon grease. Then followed the recipe with the execption of adding some more spices. Will make great left overs.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Very good. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States