Country Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight with a few adjustments. I used 5 cups of hashbrowns and baked them for crispiness before adding the rest of the ingredients. I added the corn into the soup mixture, I used 2 cans of soup and 2 cups of milk. I used shredded Colby/jack cheese. This was good. Next time I think I will use more potatoes, and more cheese. My pickey children even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This recipe is AWESOME!!! I used cream of mushroom soup and green beans instead of corn, my family LOVED it. I also used velveeta cheese. I've already passed this recipe along to several of my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Use regular chopped onions in the hash browns, added garlic salt and black pepper, use grated sharp cheddar cheese, top with some French-Fried onions and only cook until bubbly, about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
I think cooking it for 50 -55 minutes total was too much. This was pastey from over-cooking and did not have a lot of flavor except the fried onion taste. Also, why not just add the corn in the beginning? Corn doesn't break down easily, so what difference could it make adding it in the beginning with the potatoes. ??My 12 year old liked it. When I want something to please the kids, I might try again and not cook 'til mushy. 8-30-03= tried again; this time, not even my 12 year old would eat it. Still think it is too pastey, too strong dried-onion flavor and chicken is too plain. The corn was a nice texture, though. Sorry... :( Try; cooked 4-5 breasts cooked shredded chicken, 8 oz. sour cream, 2 cans cr. soup, 1 sm. box crushed Townhouse crackers mixed with 1/2 stick of melted butter, mixed up, topped with more crushed crackers and baked just til hot; We like that, and it is similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Made this recipe as is and thought it was good...things I would change to make it *great* I would try browning the hashbrowns first, or take other reviewers suggestions and try out the tator tots. Our family wished there were more onions...they were the flavor of the dish. Brown the chicken first--would probably save a lot of time and add to the flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was good, my family liked it, but I changed it completely. I used tater tots, cheddar cheese and broccoli. It was very adaptable and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Traer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Everyone in my family gave this a 4.5. It tastes alot like a chicken pot pie. I doubled it(I double everything-check my reviews if you are a doubler). I didn't double the corn or the fried onions though. I used one cream of celery and one cr. of chicken. I also used a white sharp cheese (that's what was in the house)I think this and the celery soup really enhanced the flavor because mine wasn't bland at all. I also threw in a little left over chicken that I had in the refrigerator. It came out very good. Next time I would probably increase the potatoes, a little and of course some extra fluid. And add some peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This was quite good...We cut back on the onions a little bit, used shredded cheese instead of slices and didn't add the corn. I think a 2nd can of soup would've been better. I think this recipe would work very well with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Just finished feeding this to three 12 and 13 year-olds for dinner. They all went back for seconds!! That earns it 5 stars in my book! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Quick and delicious. I don't like fried onions so I left these out and I used squash instead of corn. Loved the way the hash browns tasted with it and didn't think them mushy at all - or maybe I just like them that way :) Will make this easy recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtford

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States