Country Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was wonderful. It was so easy to prepare and the gravy mix definitely makes a difference. I did brush the bread on top with butter and it was fantastic. Other readers made all different kinds of alterations that I'm sure would also be wonderful. I like how one cook put it: It's a forgiving recipe. You can definitely customize it to your liking and ingredients on hand. I saw lots of people added hash browns and while I love has browns, the recipe doesn't need it! I will be making this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I chose this recipe for a fundraiser at work because it didn't have the ubiquitous hash browns; I wanted something a little different, and was intrigued by the use of green onion and country gravy mix. I followed the recipe exactly, using sage sausage and homemade country gravy mix. I cut the slices of bread in half widthwise, buttered them, and arranged them on top, so it would be easy to tell what a serving size was. I also reserved a little of the shredded cheese and sprinkled it on top of the bread. It looked beautiful when it came out of the oven, and it is delicious! Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Very good. I made this in a 12x18 pan using 2 cups of milk, 2 packets of gravy mix, 16 servings of hash browns, and 20eggs. I warmed the egg mixture a bit to reduce baking time. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight. It was pretty darn good. I tried to cut it in half, which was pretty easy except for the gravy part. I also made a hash brown crust to put it all in, and instead of cubed bread, I took frozen biscuits (they take longer to cook then the canned type) quartered them, and topped the whole thing off with that. It was beautiful...almost too pretty to eat. It was a tad dry for my taste, so the next time I will add the full amount of water, milk and gravy mix to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was good, although it took longer to bake than estimated. Would make some veggie additions in the future to add flavour. Replaced bread with "smiley fries" on top which delighted the little ones! Will make again for busy school day breakfasts. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Very yummy. Had to make changes based on what I had. Here's what I did: Used diced hot dog buns toasted in oven. Used for bottom layer. Then strained left over sausage gravy to separate. Layered sausage (about 1.5 cups) then cheese. Whisked 8 eggs then added to 2 cups of gravy. Poured on top of casserole. Added more cheese. Browned hash browns in oven. Baked casserole at 400 for 40 minutes (or until almost firm) then toped with crispy hash browns and finished baking. Very similar to original recipe but made changes based on others reviews and my inventory :). Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwd1017

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
My husband and 6-year-old always enjoy this meal, which we frequently eat for dinner. The ingredients are easy to find and put together, and the butter-drizzled bread on top gives a really nice crunch to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Aside from layering sausage, cheese & onion for the bottom 2 layers like a lasagna, I followed this recipe to a Tee and it is delicious! I made this for my mother-in-law, for husband and I, I'd spice it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alykar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I love this recipe! It never fails me. I often use this as a care meal and send it home with others after surgery or birth, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellaire, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Delicious recipe. So quick and easy. Followed the recipe as directed. This is definitely a keeper and will make it again. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States