Country Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by eatrightliveright
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
BAM!! Picky Skinny Teenage Kids going back for 3rd Helpings! Need I say more? I made for Mother's Day. Doubled recipe so one could be carried to church. Used 2 disposable tin pans so no cleanup. Also, casseroles aren't typically a manly item to be carrying into a class of hunters :-) so added ham and bacon to the mix as picture shows. Cut the bread slices down to 3 in each instead of 6. Divided package of Hashbrowns into thirds using 1/3 as crust for each tin pan and splitting the remaining third to add to top of each long after 30 minutes of cooking for the final 15-20 minutes. Added some shredded cheese (that I'l set to the side) after baking was complete to melt on top of the hashbrowns and make look more appetizing. The one thing I will say is I'd like to meet the person who can prepare all ingredients in 15 minutes - always seems to take me at least twice the time to everything in place... That said, Highly Recommend and will be making again. Thanks for the great ideas in other reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is a often served recipe when company comes to town. I have made it as is and it is good but I have made some changes that work nicely. I make a crispy cooked hashbrown bottom crust (first coat the bottom of pan with light coat of olive oil), and I make real sausage gravy instead of using the package. I pour this over hash browns, then put on the other ingredients. I cube a whole grain bread and I make sure to tap it down a bit into the the casserole. Comes out very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I made this, however used my own gravy. 1/4 cup butter (maybe a touch extra ;) 1/4 cup flour 2 cups milk Garlic powder, onion powder, salt, black pepper, crushed red pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I fixed it strictly by the recipe and the family loved it. Myself i felt that the gravy was lost in the mix. Next time I'm going to try it with the gravy as a topping after cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Very good, I used bacon instead of sausage and brushed butter on with a BBQ brush...everyone really liked it! Also I did half with onions and half without, both taste fine but I liked it with onions better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Instead of using the gravy mix. I added 1 package of ranch seasoning mix. It was OUTSTANDING!!!!!!! Probably the best casserole I've ever made (possibly had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Family raved! I usually have to "edit" most recipes just to make them my own. Followed the recipe exactly and the result was perfection! A definite "make again" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Make sure to read the baking instructions...I didn't cover and got the temps wrong, but in the end it was still OK...but a bit dry from not covering. I put a single layer of hash browns on the bottom, and we liked the "crust" that it made. Seemed like it needed more eggs, but that could be from not covering it while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by little BIG life
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Our daughter made this for our Christmas brunch. She opted not to use hashbrowns, but added a butter cracker crumble on top -- for a bit of crunch. It was a hit with adults & children alike....mmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this as instructed in the original recipe with no modifications. My family found this to be absolutely delicious! We had a couple of casseroles for Thanksgiving morning so we could work on prepping dinner and it was the first one gone. I will definitely make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ondrea Leikvoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States