Cottoneyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this for our family's New Years dinner and it got RAVE reviews!!! It's the best way to serve black-eyed peas I have ever found! My mom was a little apprehensive because I didn't make the peas from "scratch" but changed her mind immediately after she tasted them. I used canned "seasoned" black-eyed peas and Hormel bacon bits instead of cooking bacon but it was fantastic! Definitely a keeper! It was SO easy too. I will make them for the next time I have to take a side dish to any event!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hartville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Finally a black eyed peas recipe with celery..This is the way I make them quickly (like for a week night dinner side). The peppers add just the right amount of KICK. Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
These were a big hit yesterday for our New Years dinner. I won't be waiting until next New Years to make them again! Very simple and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janee'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Very good, but I found that it woks a little better if you saute the onion, garlic and celery in a little butter first -then add the remaining ingredients. This was a big hit !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shirley, New York, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waller, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I'm not a big fan of black eyed peas but doctored up like this they were fantastic!!! The bacon really gave a great flavor to the dish. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this for our New Year's party. It was so easy and really tasty! I sauteed the onion, celery and garlic in the bacon fat after cooking the bacon. I could not find jalapeno black eye peas so used three cans of seasoned peas and added 1 1/2 t. chopped jalapenos. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma LeGeyt Meligonis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was so easy! Everyone raved about how good it was and asked for the recipe, which I printed and gave it to them. With the little bit of leftover that I saved, I chopped up some cooked liver, mixed it with the beans, poured it into a baking dish then put a layer of sliced cheese, covered with mashed potatoes and baked at 350 for 30 mins. It was great. Thank you for this make again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Made this for New Year's per the recipe except for the hot parts as I can't eat hot foods anymore. :-( It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I made this for New Years Day. Went out and ice fished. The guys loved it. A good recipe. We eat black eyed peas offen. This was a different twist too just peas and ham hocks. Will be a special dish for those game days, and ice fishing party outings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States