Cottage Pudding (Cake for Strawberry Shortcake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
GREASE AND FLOUR YOUR PANS!!! It just says grease in the instructions. I had to make a second double batch because it stuck to the both pans. BUT ~~~This was so good! I doubled the recipe because I was going to do more of a double layer cake presentation with strawberries and whip cream. My son wants it as his birthday cake with frosting (not a berries and whip cream kind of kid). It did take longer than the time it says, but then again, I had to lower my oven temp by 25 degrees because I was using darker non stick pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Daus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Maybe my expectations were all wrong in terms of what a shortcake really is but i didn't care for the taste of this cake at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Oh. my. word. This is so super divine! It is SO fresh and moist and just wonderful!!! This is gonna be a regular in my house! Its so delicious it doesn't even need a topping! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made this last night for my bf's birthday cake. I followed the recipe to a T, and it came out perfect. I sliced it in half horizontally, filled & topped it with homemade strawberry whipped cream & strawberry purée. & ending it with sliced fresh strawberries on top. Best strawberry shortcake ever! Huge hit! Thank you. This is my go to from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Made it just like the directions... it did cook about an extra 17 mins to make the middle not doughy. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is the One Egg Cake my mom would bake as an afterschool snack for us!(This was some fifty plus years ago!) It was the best! She would sometimes add orange or lemon zest to change it up! What a joy to find this recipe! I am going to bake one right now and surprise my mom w/ some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I have been making a recipe that is very similar, only thing different is that some of the measurements of the ingredients are slightly less. I have been making this cake for 25+ years. Would not make anything else for our shortcake, the recipe can be doubled with no problems, just use a 11 x 13 or similar size pan and I have always greased the pan with some spray Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIECRAZYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orange, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I was shocked to see this recipe. My husband makes this and a home made chocolate sauce to go on top. He got the recipe from his mother 40 years ago..it is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years and years, I sometimes add blueberries in the recipe and then use it with a hot brown sugar sauce over it, delicious. It is the only recipe I use for Strawberry shortcake. I have it in y recipe box as a "one egg cake", but the recipe is the same as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edna Mallet-Park
Living In: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I've been looking for a simple but good shortcake recipe. I love strawberry shortcakes, and never made 1 myself. And this was my first 1 I made, and it seemed so easy compared to the rest. And so glad I picked this 1 to try. You won't be sorry to try this! I didn't have any strawberries, I just wanted to try it before i went out and bought some. And this is good all by itself! Yummy, I'm sure even better with the strawberries! And I read some of the other reviews, and some had different timing then what the recipe had said. Mine came out right on time, 25mins exactly. I guess it just depends on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan82902

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States