Cottage Pudding (Cake for Strawberry Shortcake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I admit I had reservations about this cake but wanted to try it because I wanted to make strawberry shortcake and wanted to try something other than my usual and this cake notes that it is for shortcake recipes. I still wasn't convinced when I made the batter, still wasn't convinced when the cake was baked but was overwhelmed when I put it all together because it made the best ever strawberry shortcake! Outstanding!! It's sorta like a cross between a sponge cake and pound cake, not one or the other but both somehow. It soaked up the liquid from the berries, had a perfect crumb, was moist, slightly sweet and just made the dessert. On it's own it doesn't seem to be anything special but when combined with sweet juicey fruit and whipped cream it's perfect. This would be good with peaches too. Thanks Kaylene for sharing your Grandmother's recipe! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this tonight to use with some fresh strawberries. 5 votes of mmmmm from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I used butter instead of shortening. And everyone L O V E, loved it! Added Fresh bluberry Compote, vanilla pudding, whipped cream. I will be using this recipe for years to come. Can't wait for strawberry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is awesome shortcake!!! Not really too good for eating by itself, but with strawberries and whipped cream, it can't be beat!!! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
The submitter describes her grandmother's cake quite accurately, and Hubs and I were both pleased she decided to share the recipe with us as we enjoyed it a great deal. It's tender, sweet and moist, perfect as shortcake, but I could easily see this as cupcakes too. Even a 9x9" cake tends to be too much for Hubs and me, so I baked these in a 6-heart shaped individual Wilton cakelet pan, which yielded 12, perfectly portioned little cakes. One or two per serving is quite sufficient and the rest I simply froze for quick future desserts. The recipe is perfect as is - those grandmas sure did know what they were doing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I made this for the first time over Labor Day weekend 2011. The shortcake is very good...just what you would expect taste and consistency-wise. I used my 9x9 inch metal pan and the baking time was 30 minutes (checked after 25 min as in directions). I did not turn the cake out onto another plate...just left it in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Made this exactly to the recipe and it was a hit. I'm going to make it as a sheet cake sometime and frost it with a strawberry glaze and then whipped topping. Should be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This cake was delicious topped with strawberries and whipped cream for dessert and served plain as a coffeecake with breakfast the next morning. I did sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar before baking it and I used softened butter in place of vegetable shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Wow this cake was fantastic! A perfect intersection of biscuit and cake for strawberry shortcake. It combines the sweet, delicateness of cake with the heartier texture and outer crust of biscuits. The crust on this cake was actually the best part -- an almost caramelized, lightly crunchy exterior. Awesome! I did use butter instead of shortening, which I suspect helped with the yummy carmelizing on the crust. I put it in an 8"x11.5" pan (all I had available), which I'd sprayed, lined with parchment and sprayed again. It needed about 33 minutes to come out toothpick clean and was perfect that way. Came out of the pan with the crust in tact and beautiful. I usually find strawberry shortcake bases too bland or too tough and biscuit-like. This one was none ot those things and will be my only base for shortcake from now on! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
GREASE AND FLOUR YOUR PANS!!! It just says grease in the instructions. I had to make a second double batch because it stuck to the both pans. BUT ~~~This was so good! I doubled the recipe because I was going to do more of a double layer cake presentation with strawberries and whip cream. My son wants it as his birthday cake with frosting (not a berries and whip cream kind of kid). It did take longer than the time it says, but then again, I had to lower my oven temp by 25 degrees because I was using darker non stick pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Daus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States