Cottage Pudding - Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Very nice - I agree with some other reviews that it needed about 15 more minutes to cook. The consistency of the brown sugar mixture with the apples is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I tried this today and loved it.. I too made this with pineapple instead of the apple and cut the sugar to 3/4 cups (white sugar). I also doubled the brown sugar which I am glad I did. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Barrett-Dick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Lovely cake! Moist and delicious. I've backed it w/ apples and we enjoyed it very much. Hubby liked it so much that he asked me to add this recipe to our recipe box. I used only 1/2 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSECLAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I doubled the brown sugar & butter topping, and used pineapples and marchino cherries. Hubby loved it and said it was like the one his Nana used to make! This is a very forgiving recipe, but I did make sure to not invert immediately. I let it stand for exactly 10 mins, and then inverted. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Literally threw this cake together while making dinner, it was that easy! Great cake recipe. I used apples and it's a hit,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kapsbreeze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was similar to another recipe i used for a basic strawberry shortcake, which was delicious. The added ingredients using the brown sugar, butter and fruit on the bottom of this made even tastier. I used fresh peaches but am looking forward to the pineapple upside down version next. I also used all butter instead of shortening, as I am a butter lover. Very moist and delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I was extremely impressed with this recipe. I followed the directions, except I added 1/3 tsp. of cinnamon to the cake mix. When it came time to alternate the milk and flour, I added 1/3 of the flour mixture, then 1/2 the milk, then 1/3 flour... so on and so forth. The cake came out very moist and very tasty. My [Granny Smith] apple slices were about 1/3 inch thick. The recipe did not specify that part. I think next time I will increase the thickness to 1/2". The only mistake I made was using a two-part pan. The apple juices and butter actually leaked out through the bottom a little and got some smoke circulating in the house before I was able to put another pan underneath of it. I can't wait to try this with pineapples (and a single-part pan) next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I love recipes that let me whip up something scrumptious on the spur of the moment without running to the store. I made it with canned pineapple rings and it was so easy and delicious. I'm sure it's good with apples, but I'm spoiled with the easy pineapple version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
A very moist, fluffy cake. I used 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening, and only sliced up one apple (because I was feeling lazy) and it definitely could have used one more apple. I think 3 may have been too much for an 8x8 pan. Came out of the pan perfectly and is a nice little treat. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Excellent as upside down cake. amazing as white cake batter, i use this recipe all the time to make cupcakes with my daughter. They are always moist and delicious. What a wonderful base recipe to have!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States