Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I used a roughly double recipe with Mrs Dash Garlic & Herb blend in the place of the Herbs au Provence and broiled on a handful of sharp cheddar at the end for a crunchy top - and the crowd went wild, although a little gravy would stick it together well. I also added more garlic powder & onion powder to the potatoes, and used a frozen mixed little vegetables blend for the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Lovley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I made this last night for me and my daughters. The only things I changed were to add 1/2 teaspoons dried beef base, then I didn't have herbs de provence, so I simply added thyme, basil and savory (didn't have fennel). Last, I used sliced baby carrots instead of peas, simply because I don't like peas! I agree, the nutmeg is a must, it adds a fantastic flavor. Next week will be trying it with ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Three stars because there is no cream of XXX soup, but that might have been the best part of this recipe. I too found it to be very bland and a little dry. May try again and deviate from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Henderson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I add mushrooms, onions, (random other veggies like carrots and corn), and every spice in my cabinet. Everyone loves this meal when I cook it. EVERYONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was awesome! I just made it and my b/f thought it was great too. Made a couple changes based on previous reviews: added 1 Tbsp. ketchup, 2 tsp. A-1 sauce, 2 dashes of Worchestershire sauce, and a splash of Rooster (hot) sauce. I was lazy so used Idahoan Butter & Herb instant potatoes and sprinkled the top with a little paprika. Yum! So good! The herbs de Provence and nutmeg really revved up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YankeeFan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Very good, but it only needs a little HP sauce added to the meat mixture to be perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I did spice it up with some extra garlic salt...i used italian spices instead of the herbs de provence and i used instant potatoes to help with time. I used frozen peas...and they cooked just fine...came out done as expected. And to make it all perfect i added shredded cheese on top. My husband and i really liked it. This is a yummy, yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I thought this was bland and dry. Followed recipe except I used cauliflower instead of peas. I liked the garlic in the mashed potatoes. Will not use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was very good! I put shredded cheese on top for more flavor. I didn't have Herbs de Provence or nutmeg, so I just used thyme and it was still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LROwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States