Cottage Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
For variation: Lightly saute fresh mushrooms, onion and garlic in olive oil. Add ground beef until just brown. Drain. Add jar beef gravy and Worcester sauce to taste. Mix well. Spoon into 9" square baking dish. Cover with prepared mashed potatoes. Ring top with baby carrots. Brush with beaten egg. Bake at 350 until bubbly. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Must try--sounds authentic form my experience; glad there's no tomoato sauce/paste. I think ideally, though, I would substitute carrots for the peas to make this a Shepherd's Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISON17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
another easy stretch recipe for the working mother of 5. putting it in the menu mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborahjo71

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I have this in the oven right now. So easy and economical, and the great thing is you can easily modify with whatever you have on hand. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I had no peas, but I added diced carrot and green bell-pepper and layered some spinach over the meat before topping with potatoes. I also had a little hunk of Parmesan cheese in the fridge so I grated it up and mixed some into the potatoes and put the rest on top. I'm baking it for about 30 minutes rather than the 20 recommended, because it didn't seem like it was browning much. It smells great! Can't wait to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZJ22
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I think that this is a great base recipe to start with! I added a few things to tailor the recipe to my family's personal tastes and it turned out great. ADDED: About 1/2C - 3/4C of sliced mushrooms, sauteed in just a bit of bacon drippings w/ 1 clove of minced garlic. About 1/2C - 3/4C of whole kernel canned corn. A few splashes (2-3Tbsp maybe) Worcestershire sauce. Several extra cloves of minced garlic! Several generous shakes of garlic salt & onion powder. (No plain salt added.) Maybe 2Tbsp of ketchup - not much, just enough to add a little extra moisture/flavor. A generous handful of mild cheddar cheese on top of the potato crust. It turned out so tasty! I think that that little extra burst of flavor from the handful of mild cheddar on top REALLY added a lot! I was unsure of the addition of nutmeg - it just seemed odd - but after tasting the finished product will definitely do so again. I will certainly be making this dish in the future, and am looking forward to trying out new flavor combinations! Thanks KMOMMYZ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
A little on the dry side and the frozen peas did not cook thoroughly. Typical cottage pie has some type of gravy or liquid added to the meat to make it more moist. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
My family enjoyed this recipe and I enjoyed making it because of its simplicity. This was my first time using herbes de Provence and we thought it added a great taste to the dish. I would like to try this dish with fresh veggies and sauteed onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Unfortunately this did not live up to my expectations. This pie did not taste anything like the cottage pies I was used to eating while living in England. All the cottage pies I have had were savory and very moist; while this one was dry. However, it does provide a basic starting point, though I would omit the herbs de provence and nutmeg and substitute some chopped onions and gravy granules to make the meat savory. Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This recipe is wonderful!I live in Ukraine so we don't have many ingredients to use so this recipe was perfect!I added cumin and chili pepper to it!When I did the recipe the pie was not dry.Delicious!Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Sooooooo good. It was the first time I had ever really *cooked* for my family and everyone loved it. I'm not a big fan of mushrooms, so I used peas instead, fresh marjoram rather than dried (just doubled the amount), and two pounds of russet potatoes. The final product was savoury and flavourful and juicy. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stultiloquence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States