Cottage Cheese Spinach Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I searched "cottage cheese" and "chicken" and found this so forgive the following substitions: Left out the onion added some softened cream cheese added a large clove of garlic created makeshift cajun seasoning with a blend of salt, freshly ground pepper, garlic powder, paprika, chili powder, crushed red pepper, McCormick's Fiery 5 Pepper totally forgot the butter HOWEVER with all these mediocre subs the chicken came out fanTAStic. My only recommendation is that you blend the cottage cheese, onion, and w/e else you added, then FOLD in spinach - better appearance. Served with plain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Great chicken recipe! I almost didn't make this dish tonight because we got home kind of late from running errands, and I thought this recipe would take a while to make since it's kind of "fancy". It is so simple and doesn't take much time at all. I think the prep time only took about 15 minutes or so and then popped it in the oven. I am so glad that I decided to make this recipe because it was loved by all. The only thing I changed was the baking temperature and time because I have found that this works perfect for getting a nice, juicy chicken without overbaking - 375 for 35 minutes. Works with every baked chicken dish I have ever made! I have seen a lot of reviewers say that they didn't use the Cajun spice mix because they thought it didn't go with the spinach/cottage cheese mixture, but it gives it a little kick along with the creaminess. Thank you for this wonderful dish that will be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Delicious! The only problem I had was evenly flattening the chicken. But the results were so outstanding I will be making it again. Used Kickin Chicken seasoning and added 1/3 c. cream cheese to the cottage cheese. Yum, yum. Thanks, Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Really tasty and quick. I used fresh spinach and added a bit of garlic as others recommended. I also halved the chicken breasts and stuffed them in--I didn't quite understand the concept with the toothpick. The result was a fresh tasting supermoist chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitwelsh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
If I could rate this recipe higher than five stars, I would. This was hands down an awesome dish. I usually make all recipes according to the directions the first try and then adjust to my family's tastes however I added some chopped fresh baby portabella mushrooms to the spinach/cottage cheese mixture. It was fabulous, not only was this dish extremely tasty it looked gorgeous on the plate as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This turned out really well! The only difference I made was I seasoned the cheese mixture with salt, garlic powder, paprika, and dried parsley. Full of flavor and low in fat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I like that this recipe is a balance of easy and fancy. I did make some alterations though. Cajun didn't sound right to me so I skipped it and just did salt and pepper. I also added a minced garlic clove to the stuffing as well as the juice of half a lemon. I also butterflied the fillets and stuffed them instead of rolling. Next time I think I'll try adding thin slices of gouda, diced bacon, and maybe chopped walnuts. Maybe it wants a sauce over the top. A basic Italian tomato sauce, for example, would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was pretty good for a low-cal chicken meal. I did not use the cajun spice, but sprinkled on garlic salt & pepper. I also baked it for an hour because my meat was pretty thick. I would suggest pounding out the chicken breasts before filling & wrapping them. I also used fresh spinach rather than frozen--that was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Very easy & quick to make, specially when you are running late in preparing dinner and you have 100 other things to do. Just prep and bake. The even better thing is it is so delicious! All the ingredients compliment each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by groovytricia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
My husband loves this chicken and I love it because it is SO easy to throw together. I did some minor alterations: added garlic, cayenne pepper and white pepper to the spinach/cottage cheese mix. Instead of using cajun style seasoning I used Greek seasoning mix and I used olive oil instead of butter over the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by todcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States