Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
BUT FOR A GOOD TAKE ON THE SAME RECIPE I USED CARMALIZED ONIONS INSTEAD OF SOUP MIX, LITTLE KETCHUP AND A CUPCAKE TIN.. TOPPED WITH KETCHUP AND A LITTLE BROWN SUGAR AND THEY ARE TO DIE FOR..GOOD HOT OR COLD.. COOKING TIME ALOT LESS, AND BEAUTIFUL TO LOOK AT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Because I changed it a bit. I'm only giving it 4 stars. Wow! Even my carniverous man couldn't believe it was meatless. I don't use onion soup mix (way too much sodium) so I used what I put in my real meatloaf-finely chopped onion (1/2 cup), ketchup (2 Tbsps.), mustard (1 Tbsp), and worcestershire sauce (1 Tbsp.)I also used 2 1/2 cups cornflakes as another reviewer suggested and only 2 Tbsps. oil Baked for a full hour. Let it sit for a while so it sets. Will make over and over again, especially when I can get the reduced price cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
All I can say is wow.  We JUST ate this and although we still can't figure out what possesed us to try it, we really did like it. I'm getting ready to pack the leftovers for my lunch tomorrow. I didn't realized it said "creamed" cottage cheese until I got home from the store w/small curd. Dunno know if it's the same or not, but it worked. We did the ketchup/BBQ mixture over the top. Can't find loaf pan so used round glass casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUMMALUVN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This was just as all the five-star reviewers described: Absolutely delicious and loved by every member of my family, including my meat-loving husband who didn't realize it was meatless. Can't wait to make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
My husband and I have been on the lookout for a meatloaf alternative for sometime now. I'm still not sure how we found this recipe, but I'm glad we did!!! I love it and so does my husband. I do agree with everyone else, you have to cook it for at least an hour before it's done, but its well worth the wait!! The only problem I have with this recipe is the sodium content. It's a little high for us. I've been looking for a lower sodium onion soup mix, but have yet to find one. If anyone knows of where I can find any, or how to make some at home, please let me know!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Freakin' awesome! We're trying to live a little healthier and save a few $$ by eating one vegetarian meal a week. My husband was revolted at first when I told him what was in it, so much so that he decided he would just skip dinner the night I made this. However, when he saw how much the kids dug it, he tried it was shocked at how much it really tastes like meatloaf. He even asked me if I made meatloaf and was just kidding about the cottage cheese roast. My carnivourous buch loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was wonderful. I used Special K cereal,5 eggs instead of 4, only 2 TLBS of oil, 4 Tlbs catsup, extra onion, green pepper and worcheschier sauce. I ground the nuts in the food processor. I would put parchment paper in the loaf pan for easier removal. Spread a mixture of catsup and BBQ sauce over the top 1/2 way through the baking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I made this for my parents last night, and was a litle apprehensive as my dad is an avid meat-eater and dislikes cottage cheese. At first, I didn't tell my parents what was in the roast, but once I saw they liked it, I told them the ingredients. They were both taken aback to discover something SO delicious had cottage cheese in it. I did substitute the soup mix for a chopped onion and cut the oil in half. You could not tell the difference. Delicious and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Wow, this is increDibly good for meatless meatloaf. I subsituted the oil with a small can of tomato sauce and one time I made it I used pistachios for the nuts. I've also added taco seasoning, you can really play with it, it's a great base. It's a good meatloaf, my kids didn't even know it didn't have any meat in it and they were surprised when I told them after dinner. My local grocery store marks the big containers of cottage cheese down to 79 cents on the sell by date, so now I buy them and make 2 loaves at once, eating one for dinner and saving the other for sandwiches. This makes dinner very inexpensive so THANK YOU! I would suggest increasing the amount of cornflakes by a cup or so and let it sit for a few minutes after cooking as it will firm up more as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Foreman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I loved this recipe, I added about 1/2 c shredded cheddar cheese and also sprinkled cheese and breadcrumbs on top. It came out a little nutty flavored so i think i'll reduce the amount of walnuts next time. Overall I'm satisfied and I know other veggie heads out there will like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States