Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Love it! I Dont use any oil to cut down on fat and also use only 1/2 cup nuts to cut fat and calories. 2 cups of cereal works better for me.(I use Special K). I also added onions and peppers for more flavor. I will play with spices next time i make it. Italian seasoning with garlic salt would be great and top it with ketchup, brown sugar and worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Okay, I never take the time to review a recipe, but I was looking for some type of a meat dish to fix for Thanksgiving dinner for my vegetarian kids, and the reveiws for this were so good I had to give it a try. And after trying, I had to review it! I am totally impressed, and can't wait for my kids to try it. After reading some of the other reviews, I did alter it slightly. First of all, I used my food processor and creamed fat free cottage cheese, b/c that's what I had. Then I used it to chop up about 3/4 c. of almonds, b/c that's what I had. I also used it to finely chop corn flakes, until I had 2 1/2 c. I only added about 2 T. oil and 1/2 pkg onion soup mix. I put it all in the food processor, added a little steak dust, some Kitchen Bouquet and a little liquid smoke and some bbq sauce and garlic pepper. Mixed it all well, poured into 2 smaller loaf pans, baked at 350 35 min, put a little more bbq sauce on top and broiled 5 min. Took it out, cooled it, and was WOWED with how much it tasted like meat loaf. I was a little concerned about the almonds, but like another reviewer said, I think it gives it more that beefy texture. Don't be afraid to try this recipe. It can be altered a lot of ways, but it surprisingly delicious! Next time, I may add some veggies just for more nutrition. Thank you, Kittyann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is probably the cookiest recipe I've ever tried, but man if it didn't just shock the heck out of me and the family... absolutely wonderful! I did as other reviewers and cut the oil to 1/8 cup and used only 2 eggs. Also I didn't use a full packet of onion soup mix, half was PLENTY. I added mushrooms, onions, garlic, and served with mashed taters and mushroom gravy. Truely a great meatless meal that filled and satisfied us all. I WILL make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
What do I say that has not already been said. For those who gave it a bad rating guess you need to look at a recipe and first decide if the ingrediants match your taste. If you don't like walnuts then this is not the dish for you. My opinion, always look at a recipe as a guide not an absolute. Thank you Kittyann for a fun and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Great recipe, but too salty for me. The consistancy was great and the combination of ingredients was wonderful, but perhaps next time I'll fry my own onions and season myself with pepper and italian blend or something. Thanks for the unique combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
My hubby did NOT like at all and to me it had no flavor. It did LOOK like meatloaf but it really came up short in the taste department. I also made it just as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
OMG this tastes so good... It needs to be baked longer than it says to though. Like 70-80 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is certainly an interesting dish. It was okay, and I certainly was impressed by the appearance. My store did not sell creamed cottage cheese, so I used low fat small curd cottage cheese. My husband said he thought it tasted like meatloaf, and my 13 year old daughter said she would not have known is was not meatloaf if I didn't tell her (after she tried it and liked it.) I added two cups of crushed corn flakes, but followed the recipe otherwise. I made a brown gravy to go with it. If you would like this to taste more like your meatloaf I recommend omitting the onion soup mix and adding the seasonings that you would normally use to make your meatloaf. I liked the onion soup mix. You could also add ketchup or BBQ sauce to the top. On a side note I really dislike walnuts but you do not taste the flavor in this. I think the walnuts give it the meatloaf look. I did chop mine very fine. If you feel like trying something different, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Odd ingredients, but surprisingly tasty. I omitted the oil, and used 2 cups of cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Great flavor and texture when first prepared. leftovers not so much, will try to fry a slice of leftovers and see if that helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States