Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
My hubby did NOT like at all and to me it had no flavor. It did LOOK like meatloaf but it really came up short in the taste department. I also made it just as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
OMG this tastes so good... It needs to be baked longer than it says to though. Like 70-80 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is certainly an interesting dish. It was okay, and I certainly was impressed by the appearance. My store did not sell creamed cottage cheese, so I used low fat small curd cottage cheese. My husband said he thought it tasted like meatloaf, and my 13 year old daughter said she would not have known is was not meatloaf if I didn't tell her (after she tried it and liked it.) I added two cups of crushed corn flakes, but followed the recipe otherwise. I made a brown gravy to go with it. If you would like this to taste more like your meatloaf I recommend omitting the onion soup mix and adding the seasonings that you would normally use to make your meatloaf. I liked the onion soup mix. You could also add ketchup or BBQ sauce to the top. On a side note I really dislike walnuts but you do not taste the flavor in this. I think the walnuts give it the meatloaf look. I did chop mine very fine. If you feel like trying something different, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Odd ingredients, but surprisingly tasty. I omitted the oil, and used 2 cups of cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Great flavor and texture when first prepared. leftovers not so much, will try to fry a slice of leftovers and see if that helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I am only giving this recipe 3 stars because it was way to salty for my taste. I will definitely make this recipe again, but I will probably only use 1/2 the onion soup mix and maybe add 1/2 cup sauteed onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I added Kitchen Bouquet Browning & Seasoning Sauce to look more like meat. My husband thinks it's a good substitue for the high sodium corned beef hash he had to give up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was excellent. We were raised vegetarians and this is very similar to our "Family recipe" for "cottage cheese burgers". The only change I made was to add garlic and some red pepper flakes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Not my favorite. I added some sliced cooked mushrooms and green onions to the mix and used chopped mixed nuts, since it's what I had on-hand. Not very meatloaf-y, but reasonably tasty. Just not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
At first I was hesitant to try this dish but my husband and even my KIDS RAVED at how wonderful it turned out. Of course, I did not tell them that the meatloaf they were eating had no MEAT in it until they commented how much they liked it. My 10 year old wants it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gnadenhutten, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States